Skip to main content

Video Transcripts

Introduction to the Writing Center: Graduate Students

Last update 10/22/2016

 

Visual: Walden logo at bottom of screen along with notepad and pencil background. Walden University Writing Center. Your writing, grammar, and APA experts” appears in center of screen. Screen changes to show the title of the video

Audio: Guitar music.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show “Welcome to the Writing Center” and a picture of Writing Center staff.

Audio: Welcome to the Writing Center! In this short video, you'll learn a few of the essential ways the Writing Center can assist you with your writing at Walden. But before we begin, here's a picture of our staff at Walden's Minneapolis office at one of our yearly retreats. Many of us live and work in Minneapolis, Minnesota, but others flew in from around the United States.

I know it can sometimes feel like you are isolated at Walden because most of your interactions with classmates, faculty, and staff are online. However, know that at the Writing Center, there are people behind those computers who are here to help.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show “Writing Center Mission.”

Audio: How do we help you? Here is a part of the Writing Center's mission statement: "Our staff of dedicated professionals supports students in building and applying their writing skills as scholars, practitioners, and agents of positive social change."

In short, we want to help you not only reach your educational goals but also make a positive impact on your community.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the following lists:

Writing: Organization, Idea development, Paragraphing

APA: References, Citations, Style

Grammar: Sentence structure, Word choice, Tone

Audio: To do this we are your go-to place for help with writing, citing sources, and grammar. Part of helping you with writing means giving you feedback and tips on organization, idea development, and paragraphing. In fact, that's a lot of what we do because many students aren't familiar with the type of writing we do at Walden--what we call "academic writing."

We also help students with APA, like citing sources and creating references list. Learning APA can be difficult, so we're here to help.

Lastly, we also help students with grammar. This includes what we normally think of as grammar, like sentence structure and punctuation, but also topics that might be new to you, such as word choice and tone.

 

Visual: The screen changes to show the following: Writing Instructors:

  • Discussion posts, coursework, final papers
  • Webinars
  • Website
  • Paper review appointments
  • E-mail, social media

Audio: The Writing Center has two teams: the Writing Instructors and the Editors. You will primarily work with the Writing Instructors.

The Writing Instructors are available to help via all the services we will talk about today, and we work with students on assignments like shorter discussion posts and course papers, but also longer final papers.

 

Visual: The screen changes to show the following: What do we do?

  • Paper review appointments
  • Webinars
  • Website
  • Get in Touch

Audio: Now that you know who we are, let's talk about what you really are here for: What we can do for you. We are going to highlight four services today. While these aren't, by any means, all of the services the Writing Center offers, they are a great place to start.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the title “Website” and a screenshot of the Writing Center’s home page. As the speaker talks about the sections, screenshots of those sections are shown.

Audio: You'll access all of these services via our website, shown here, but the website itself is a great resource to help with your writing, APA, and grammar and is available 24/7. From transitions and formatting to thesis statements and organization: The tutorials on the website explain each writing topic in-depth, as well as give you specific examples.

For instance, one of the most popular resources on the website is the Templates page, found under the "APA Style" tab. We have many templates for different programs, but the most common one is the first one listed, the Course Paper template, which you can use to write your general course papers. Simply download the template, which is already formatted per APA, and either write directly within the template or copy and paste your writing into the template to use its formatting.

We have a few tips and tricks for navigating the website. First, our Quick Answers database is available on the home page. Quick Answers is a searchable database that provides answers to common questions we have received from students.

Next, you can easily search all of the website at any point by using the search box at the top right corner of every page. This box allows you to easily search key words or topics on our website, finding relevant pages and tutorials to help you in your writing.

Finally, you can use the five blue buttons on our home page to direct you to various parts of the website.  For example, I'll be talking about our paper review service next, which you can find more information about by clicking the "Paper Review" button shown here.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the title “Paper Review Appointments” and the following:

Paper review appointments are like mini writing lessons:

  • Point out patterns
  • Give suggestions for use in future writing
  • Not meant for every assignment or every page of a long paper

Audio: The Writing Instructors offer a paper review tutoring service. These paper reviews are an opportunity for you to get a reader's perspective on your writing. In a paper review appointment, we will point out patterns in your writing, as well as give suggestions for ways to improve your writing in general. In this way, paper reviews are like mini writing lessons--our goal is to teach you something about writing that you will be able to use in all your other assignments. Because of this, paper review appointments are not a way for you to get your writing edited. Instead, we focus on developing your writing skills and empowering you to revise and improve your writing on your own.

 

Visual: Screen changes to the following text:

Make an appointment

  • MyWalden portal
  • Confirmation e-mail

Upload your paper

  • 5:00 a.m. ET

Relax (whew!)

  • Embed feedback into your draft
  • E-mail you within 2 days (at latest)

Audio: Paper reviews work by appointment via our myPASS schedule, which you can access in your MyWalden portal. When you first access our paper review schedule, you'll need to register. As a graduate student, you'll use our Graduate Coursework Schedule. Then, when you make an appointment, you'll fill out an appointment form. Filling out this form is very important: It ensures we can give you the most useful and relevant feedback possible for your draft, so please give us as much detail as possible and feel free to update the form as your appointment with us gets closer.

Note that there isn't any specific time associated with paper review appointments--we won't call or chat you. Instead, you'll upload your paper by 5:00 a.m. Eastern time on the day of your appointment. Then, we are able to spend all of the appointment devoted to your written draft, embedding comments into your document and e-mailing it back to you within 2 business days.

You are able to reserve an appointment as far as 2 weeks ahead of time, and we suggest students reserve appointments at least 2-5 days ahead of time; otherwise, they might become filled by other students. However, note that you don't have to upload your paper when you schedule an appointment; you're only required to upload your paper by that 5:00 a.m. Eastern time deadline I mentioned before. So, feel free to make an appointment ahead of time, then upload your paper at a later date when you have a draft ready.

Finally, note that if you're a doctoral student, you are only able to submit writing that is not related to your final doctoral study for paper review appointments. Once you start working on your final study (like your prospectus or proposal for your final capstone), even if you are working on it as part of a course, we can't review those documents. That's why we encourage all students to use our paper review services early in their program. You're also welcome to e-mail us with any questions you have about paper review appointments, and I'll show you how to do so soon.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the title “Webinars” and the following:

  • Live 1-hour sessions on writing, grammar, and APA
    • Check the calendar to register (Eastern time)
    • Click individual link via e-mail at time of webinar
    • Listen to presenter, participate in polls, chats with students and staff
    • Listen to recording in archive

Audio: Webinars are another great way to use the Writing Center. In these 1-hour, live presentations we discuss a writing, grammar, or citation topic. For example, we have webinars about organization, paragraphing, tone, grammar, and APA citations. We even have webinars specifically for you as graduate students!

To attend a live webinar, register via the webinar calendar. You can click the live link to access this calendar now. During the webinar, you can listen to our presenter, chat with other staff and students, and interact with polls and quizzes to test what you're learning. 

 

Visual: Screen shows a screenshot of the webinar archive.

Audio: We also record all our webinars, so each session we've presented in the past is available in our webinar archive, located under our webinar calendar. This allows you to watch any webinar at any time.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the title “Get in Touch” and the following:

Audio: The Writing Center is also very active in social media, and we encourage you to contact us in your preferred method. Our blog, Facebook page, and Twitter account create a sense of community among Walden students and Writing Center staff. They give you a chance to ask us questions, too.

The most popular method of contacting us, though, is by e-mail at writingsupport@waldenu.edu. Send any questions, concerns, or feedback for us to this address, and we promise to respond within 24 hours.

This applies to any topic we've talked about today, like our paper review appointments: If you'd like more information, please reach out and let us know.

 

Visual: Screen changes to show the Writing Center’s email, writingsupport@waldenu.edu, and “Happy writing!”

Audio: We hope that you'll take advantage of the Writing Center soon and often. Remember, send us an e-mail with any questions, and happy writing!