The Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! Webinar Series is designed to answer common questions about using the Walden Library. Each thirty-minute webinar gives an in-depth explanation of a topic in a conversational format.
On this page you will find links to all of our Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! webinar recordings, as well as presentation slides, links to Library Guides, and Quick Answers with more information on the topic.
As a completely online library, the Walden Library's website is the Library! Learning how to navigate it is an important step in finding what you need in the Library. Here are some questions that are answered in this webinar:
Video: Library Website Overview (YouTube)
Recorded May 2019 (23 min 57 sec)
This video covers:
Video: Mysteries of the Library Revealed! Course Readings (YouTube)
Recorded June 2019 (24 min 12 sec)
Video: Mysteries of the Library Revealed! What am I looking at? (YouTube)
Recorded June 2020 (29 min 17 sec)
This video covers:
Video: Peer Review (YouTube)
Recorded January 2019 ( 29 min 52 sec)
While a physical library contains books, journals, newspapers, etc., a completely online library, like Walden's Library, is made up of Library databases. These databases contain books, journals, newspapers, videos, etc. Instead of going to the shelves to access these items, you use your computer to navigate the database to find what you need. This recording covers these questions:
Video: Mysteries of the Library Revealed! Databases (YouTube)
Recorded February 2020 (28 min 46 sec)
Video: Thoreau Multiple Database Search Tool (YouTube)
Recorded October 2018 (31 min 59 sec)
Learn how to choose appropriate keywords for a topic and how to let the database and existing research guide you to the right words with the following resources. Maybe you have wondered:
Video: Search Terms (YouTube)
Recorded July 2018 ( 33 min 34 sec)
This session will focus on what Boolean Operators are and how they can help you find relevant and focused results.
Video: Boolean Operators (YouTube)
Recorded February 2019 (28 min 04 sec)
When you search the Library databases, you may come across articles or other resources that are merely listed in that database and not available in full text. This webinar covers:
Video: Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! Full Text(YouTube)
Recorded November 2019 (29 min 44 sec)
Finding and accessing individual journals in the Walden Library can be a useful skill to develop.
This webinar answers these questions about journals:
Video: Mysteries of the Library Revealed! Journals (YouTube)
Recorded July 2018 (33 min 54 sec)
Learn how to find an article when you have the reference citation.
Video: Find Specific Articles (YouTube)
Recorded March 2020 ( 27 min 47 sec)
Dissertations are a great resource. They can serve as published examples of the flow and organization of a study and a source for references.
Students often contact the Library with questions such as:
Video: Finding and Using Dissertations (YouTube)
Recorded September 2019 (28 min 22 sec)
Google Scholar is a great resource to use while you conduct your research. However, it can be very overwhelming. There is so much information, and it is delivered in an unfocused manner that may hide relevant results. Some of the questions the Library receives include:
Video: How to use Google Scholar (YouTube)
Recorded December 2019 (28 min 12 sec)
Video: Mysteries of the Library Revealed! Organization and Storage(YouTube)
Recorded March 2019 (41 min 13 sec)
Learn about search alerts and how to set them up.
Video: Search Alerts (YouTube)
Recorded June 2018 ( 29 min 52 sec)
This session covers quick tips on locating required course materials, assignment help, subject research pages and databases, article title searches, basic database search tips, and how to get Library help
Video: Time Saving Tips & Tricks! (YouTube)
Recorded April 2020 (30 min 24 sec)