Skip to main content

HUMN 8215 Assignment Resources: Week 4

Introduction

For this Discussion, you are asked to conduct research in the Walden Library and/or contemporary news sources to find an article that presents a particular event highlighting immoral behavior of children or adolescents.

After going through this guide you will be able to find an article for the discussion by:

  • identifying keywords appropriate to your topic
  • conducting a search in database or on the web that will successfully locate articles

Below you can see sample searches in two different databases, and suggestions for searching the internet, for articles about bullying. Search either or both of the databases shown to find an article that will work for you.

If you're having a hard time deciding on a topic check out the Library's topic guide.

Search in Academic Search Complete

For this assignment, use a multidisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Central. 

Academic Search Complete is a general database that searches many news sources.  You can look for articles in Academic Search Complete by following these steps:
 

1. On the Library homepage, click on Databases A-Z. 

2. Click on A and scroll down to Academic Search Complete.

Log in with your myWalden email and password. 

3. In the first search box enter:

 child* OR teen* OR adolescen* 

Note: Using an asterisk (*) after the beginning of a word tells the database to search for any variations in endings of the word. For example, teen* will search for teen, teens, teenage, teenager, etc.

Note: You can expand your search with synonyms that express the same concept, separating them with the word OR.

4. In the second search box, enter your chosen immoral behavior. 

    For example, you could enter:

bully*

Note: The * allows you to capture all forms of the word, such as bully, bullying, etc.

5. In the Publication Type section click Periodical, then hold down the Ctrl key on your keyboard and click Newspaper.

6. Click Search.  Browse through the results to find something that works for you.
 

If you need help accessing full text look at the Full Text guide.

To learn more about the use of ORAND and NOT, look at our Boolean guide.

For additional help choosing keywords look at our Keyword searching guide.

Internet search

If you prefer, you can do a search on the open Internet.  Note that you will get a lot more results from an open web search, and you will have to evaluate whether the site is credible or not.

Lots of news sources are available online, including newspaper and magazine websites as well as news aggregators such as Google and Yahoo News:

Be sure to pay attention to the URL and where the news is coming from to ensure the information you're looking at is reliable. For information on how to evaluate websites, look at our Evaluating resources guide.

Reflection

  1. Did you try searching both the open Internet and a Library database?   Which did you end up preferring?  Why?  
  2. Can you think of circumstances when the Library would be better than the Internet?  When the Internet would be better than the Library?