Ask OASIS Explore Health Theory
Theory at a Glance: a Guide for Health Promotion Practice by
This appendix describes influential theories of health-related behaviors, the processes of shaping behaviors, and the effects of community and environmental factors on behavior. It makes health behavior theory accessible and provides tools to solve problems and assess the effectiveness of health promotion programs.
Use these recommended resources to begin searching for theories related to health and medicine. Identifying and selecting theories is a natural knowledge building process that takes time and exploration.
Encyclopedia of Health and BehaviorExplore the Reader's Guide section on Basic Processes, Theory and Methodology for links to specific theories. Searching and using the Subject Guide are also good ways to identify theories and models in this text.
Health Behavior : theory, research, and practice by Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Introduction to Health Care Quality : Theory, Methods, and Tools by ISBN: 9781118779590Publication Date: 2016-11-22
Find Articles on Theory
Once a theory or theorist has been identified, searching the literature to better understand its context and evolution is the next step. These are the top recommended databases for finding literature related to health and theory.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This comprehensive nursing and allied health database contains a wide variety of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
- MEDLINE with Full Text
This biomedical and health database, produced of the U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, includes an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals. It uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to make it easier to retrieve relevant results.
- PsycInfo
Devoted to scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health; includes peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, dissertations, and all content from the APA PsycArticles database.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
A social sciences database of peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings focused on social work, family studies, criminal justice, and related subjects.
Websites
- Center for Health Communications ResearchFrom the University of Michigan
- Health Education Behavior Models & TheoriesFrom Mississippi State University
Health Topic Guides
-
Theories & Models for the Health Sciences
by Julie James Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 160 views this year
-
Statistics & Measures for the Health Sciences
by Julie James Last Updated Apr 25, 2025 50 views this year
-
Nursing Theory and Theorists
by Julie James Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 66 views this year
-
Evidence-Based Research
by Julie James Last Updated Apr 25, 2025 23066 views this year
-
PubMed
by Julie James Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 183 views this year