Skip to Main Content

Timing and Requirements: MSW / BSW

Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) Social Work Skills Lab Timing

BSW Skills Lab Required Timing

Social Work Skills Lab 1 - 1cr

(BWLB 4900)

Required online and

integrated synchronous face-to-face

or virtual experience

You will be eligible for Social Work Skills Lab I after you have completed SOCW 4003, SOCW 4004. 

  • This lab includes online course content integrated with a 3-day, face-to-face or virtual synchronous requirement.
    • 3 weeks online
    • 3 days face-to-face or virtual synchronous sessions
    • 2 weeks online

View the BSW MSW Social Work Skills Lab Calendar

Email Academic Advising if you have questions.

International Students: View the SEVIS/I-20 site for complete information about the requirement for travel to social work skills labs in the U.S. Be sure to complete your I-20 paperwork 3-4 months before the social work skills lab start date in order to allow sufficient time to complete the required processes and approvals for you to be able to travel and attend.

Master of Social Work (MSW) Social Work Skills Lab Timing

MSW Skills Lab Required Timing

Social Work Skills Lab 1 - 1cr

(SWLB or SCLB 0651)

Required online and

integrated synchronous face-to-face

or virtual experience

You will be eligible for Social Work Skills Lab I after you have completed SOCW 6002; required before entering SOCW 6500 Social Work Field Education I.

  • This lab includes online course content integrated with a 3-day, face-to-face or virtual synchronous requirement.
    • 3 weeks online
    • 3 days face-to-face or virtual synchronous sessions
    • 2 weeks online
  • Successful completion is required before SOCW 6500 Social Work Field Education I.
  • Exception: Advanced Standing students skip Skills Lab I and attend Social Work Skills Lab II after completing SOCW 6002. These students will be registered by the university for Social Work Skills Lab IIA (SWLB 0652A).

Social Work Skills Lab 2 - 1 cr

(SWLB or SCLB 0652)

Required online and

integrated synchronous face-to-face

or virtual experience

 You will be eligible for Social Work Skills Lab II after SOCW 6510; required prior to enrolling in SOCW 6520 Social Work Field Education III.
  • This lab includes online course content integrated with a 3-day, face-to-face or virtual synchronous requirement.
    • 3 weeks online
    • 3 days face-to-face or virtual synchronous sessions
    • 2 weeks online
  • Successful completion is required before Social Work Field Education III (SOCW 6520).

Social Work Skills Lab 2 - 1 cr

(SWLB or SCLB 0652A)

 

Required online and

integrated synchronous face-to-face

or virtual experience

Advanced standing students who started the program PRIOR TO August 2021 will be eligible for Social Work Skills Lab II after completing SOCW 6002.

Advanced standing students who started the program ON OR AFTER August 30, 2021 will be eligible for Social Work Skills Lab II after enrolling in the program.

  • This lab includes online course content integrated with a 3-day, face-to-face or virtual synchronous requirement.
    • 3 weeks online
    • 3 days face-to-face or virtual synchronous sessions
    • 2 weeks online
  • Successful completion is required before Social Work Field Education III (SOCW 6520).

View the BSW MSW Social Work Skills Lab Calendar

Email Academic Advising if you have questions.

International Students: View the SEVIS/I-20 site for complete information about the requirement for travel to social work skills labs in the U.S. Be sure to complete your I-20 paperwork 3-4 months before the social work skills lab start date in order to allow sufficient time to complete the required processes and approvals for you to be able to travel and attend.

Skills Lab Registration Timing

Submit a request to register for the social work skills labs.

SUBMIT THIS REGISTRATION REQUEST FORM ONLY ONCE!
 

IMPORTANT:

  • Seating is limited in each term and eligible students are registered in order based on the date requested.
  • Registration is NOT guaranteed if:
    • Seating fills to capacity prior to the registration deadline below.
    • You submit a request to register after the registration deadline below.

Submit Your Request to Register NO LATER Than

Expect to be Registered for Skills Lab (as long as seating is available)

Expect to Receive Your Event Information Email
February 4 Between January 7 and February 5 Approximately 5-7 days after your skills lab course appears in your myWalden portal. Click HERE for the steps to confirm your registration.
April 23

Between April 1 and April 24

 Approximately 5-7 days after your skills lab course appears in your myWalden portal. Click HERE for the steps to confirm your registration.

August 9

 Between July 8 and August 10 Approximately 5-7 days after your skills lab course appears in your myWalden portal. Click HERE for the steps to confirm your registration.
November 11
 Between October 14 and November 12 Approximately 5-7 days after your skills lab course appears in your myWalden portal. Click HERE for the steps to confirm your registration.

BSW Skills Lab Description

BWLB 4900 - Social Work Skills Lab

(1 cr.) The Social Work Skills Lab is a 1-credit, 6-week hybrid class that includes 3 weeks of online content, followed by a 4-day synchronous residential component, and then closes with 2 weeks of online content. Students in the Social Work Skills Lab I reinforce the content covered in the Social Work courses with an emphasis on skills development and advanced topics in diversity and inclusion, evidence-based practice, ethics, and development of the professional self. Material covered includes practice labs focused on individual engagement and assessment, group development and leadership, and an understanding of how to advocate within organizations and communities. A key component of the skills lab is to prepare and assess students for their readiness to enter the field. (Prerequisite(s): SOCW 3004.) Note: This course contains a required 4-day face-to-face experience and will bill with an additional lab fee.

MSW Skills Lab Descriptions

SWLB/SCLB 0651 - Social Work Lab I

(1 cr.) The Social Work Skills Lab is a 1-credit, 6-week hybrid class that includes 3 weeks of online content, followed by a 3-day synchronous residential component, and then closes with 2 weeks of online content. Students in the Social Work Skills Lab I reinforce the content covered in the Second Year MSW courses with an emphasis on clinical skills development and advanced topics in diversity and inclusion, evidence-based practice, ethics, and development of the professional self. Material covered includes practice labs focused on clinically informed individual engagement and assessment, group development and leadership, and an understanding of how to advocate within organizations and communities. A key component of the skills lab is to prepare and assess students for their readiness to enter the field.

SWLB/SCLB 0652 - Social Work Lab II

(1 cr.) The Social Work Skills Lab II is a 1-credit, 6-week hybrid class that includes 3 weeks of online content, followed by a 3-day synchronous residential component, and then closes with 2 weeks of online content. Students in the Social Work Skills Lab II reinforce the content covered in the Second Year MSW courses with an emphasis on clinical skills development and advanced topics in diversity and inclusion, evidence-based practice, ethics, and development of the professional self. Material covered includes practice labs focused on clinically informed individual engagement and assessment, group development and leadership, and an understanding of how to advocate within organizations and communities. A key component of the skills lab is to prepare and assess students for their readiness to enter the field.

SWLB/SCLB 0652A - Social Work Skills Lab IIA – Advanced Standing

(1 cr.) The Social Work Skills Lab II and IIA is a 1-credit 6-week hybrid class that includes 3 weeks of online content, followed by a 3-day synchronous residential component and then closes with 2 weeks of online content. The Social Work Skills Lab II/IIA serves to reinforce the content covered in the Second Year MSW courses with an emphasis on clinical skills development, and advanced topics in diversity and inclusion, evidence-based practice, ethics, and development of the professional self. Material covered includes practice labs focused on clinically informed individual engagement and assessment, group development and leadership, and an understanding of how to advocate within organizations and communities. A key component of the skills lab is to prepare and assess students for their readiness to enter field.