In the research databases, you can limit your search results to only full text by checking a box or choosing other options. Some are set to full text automatically.
EBSCO: Limited to full text by default.
ProQuest: Limited to full text by default.
SAGE: Limit the date range to 1999 to present. Select SAGE Journals Available to Me.
ScienceDirect: Limit the date range to 1995 to present. Change the Source to Subscribed Sources.
After entering a search, click the full text link by the article you want. Depending on the database, the links might look different or be in different places—beneath the article information or to the side.
While many articles have only one full-text option, the example above has two:
You may also see the Find @ Walden button which checks for full text availability at Walden Library:
The Find @ Walden service may not always successfully find full text when full text is available. If the Find @ Walden service is unsuccessful, you can confirm if full text is available by looking for the article using the journal title.
Databases have different options to save and print full text. Read carefully after clicking an option! You may be saving or printing only the article information and not the full text.
A surefire way to save or print an article is to view the PDF in your internet browser first. If you're using the latest version of Adobe Reader, a toolbar will appear when you mouse over the top of the open PDF.
Chrome is an exception. If you're using the Chrome browser, right-click your mouse to save and print.
We strongly recommend using the latest version of Adobe Reader. Downloading and installing the most up-to-date version often solves most PDF issues you may experience.
See the PDF Help guide for more PDF troubleshooting tips.
If you're working on your dissertation or doctoral study, you can request articles through DDS. We will try to find the item at another library and email it to you for free (restrictions apply).
This guide covers getting full text for an item you've already found or know about. To learn about search strategies, see these guides: