For your Week 3 Assignment you are asked to explore the Walden Library and find a peer-reviewed article on an issue that is important to you and related to your health field.

The goal of this guide is to help you navigate the Walden Library and find a peer-reviewed article on a public health topic. You will learn:

• how to access the health resources in the Walden Library
• how to search the MEDLINE with Full-Text database to find peer-reviewed articles on a topic of interest

If you'd like to refresh your basic search techniques using the Walden Library, please review the following:

The Library offers a variety of resources geared specifically to students studying in areas of health science. Below are instructions on how you can access health sciences related resources:

1. On the Library homepage, go to the Research by Subject box.
   
   
    
2. Click on Research by Subject and choose Health Sciences.
    
3. Scroll down until you see a section called Health Sciences articles, journals & books.
    
4. Click on Health Sciences databases, Evidence-based & clinical resources, or Health Policy databases and select an appropriate database from the list provided to fit your needs.
    

Note: Consider exploring the Human Services Research page for databases related to the social and psychological sciences including SocINDEX and PyscINFO. You may also find a multidisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete useful if your topic is across multiple areas of study.

Which of the following databases can be useful for research health topics? (Choose all that apply)

1. CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
2. MEDLINE with Full Text
3. Academic Search Complete
4. SocINDEX with Full Text

Quiz answer.

Throughout your studies at Walden, you will be asked to find peer-reviewed articles on a number of different topics. If you are unfamiliar with what peer review is, please refer to our guide:

Many of the Library databases, including MEDLINE with Full Text, have a special box to check, also called a limiter, so that your searches return only peer-reviewed articles.

Here is a search that you can do in the MEDLINE with Full Text database to find peer-reviewed articles on a topic:

1. When you are on the Health Sciences Research page, click on the menu for Health Sciences databases.
   
   Note: For more information on accessing the Health Sciences Research page, please see the access health sciences resources instructions above.
    
2. The first database listed in this box is MEDLINE with Full Text. Click on the link to access the database.
   
   Note: If you have not already logged in to the Library databases, you will be prompted to log in with your myWalden Portal user name and password.
    
3. Once you are in the database, enter your keywords in the search boxes.
   
   First search box:
   
   Child
   
   Second search box:
   
   Obesity
    
4. Here is what your search boxes should look like:
   
   
    
5. To limit your results to only full-text, peer-reviewed articles, go below the search boxes and click in the boxes under Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
   
   Note: Many Library databases include citations for articles that they don't have in full text, meaning the full article isn't available. Limiting your results to only full text will ensure that all of the articles you find will be available.
   
   
   
    
6. Then click on the Search button to run your search.
7. That should give you a list of peer-reviewed articles on your topic.
8. Once you identify an article that looks interesting, click on the PDF Full-Text link to open the article.
   
   

To learn more about picking appropriate keywords, please see our guide:

• What did you find easy about searching MEDLINE with Full Text for peer-reviewed articles?
• What did you find to be difficult?
• Do you have any questions about using the Walden Library? If you do, you can always use our Ask a Librarian form to ask us a question!

All of these databases can be useful for researching topics related to public health:

1. CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
2. MEDLINE with Full Text
3. Academic Search Complete
4. SocINDEX with Full Text