Skip to Main Content

Library Faculty Newsletter: Summer 2018

Summer 2018 Issue

Library Faculty Newsletter

Keeping Up To Date with ScholarWorks

By: Traci Avet Hector


ScholarWorks is Walden University's institutional repository, a digital library of original research and publications by Walden University students, faculty, and staff. The ScholarWorks website is free and open to the public, ensuring that Walden research is both findable and accessible to scholars and researchers across the globe.

There are several ways you can stay up-to-date with new content in your field using ScholarWorks:

  • Browse subject collections such as social change, online education, or international research.
  • Browse by discipline and sub-discipline. For example, "Medicine and Health Sciences" is divided into 22 sub-disciplines such as nursing which includes publications on critical care, family practice, and nursing administration.
  • View your colleagues’ scholarship through specific Walden University publications such as the Social Change Impact Report or departmental works from the Office of Research and Doctoral Services, the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment, and others. You can even view publications specific to Walden colleges like the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences or Walden schools like Counseling, Psychology, or Public Policy and Administration.

Is your own faculty research focus more specific? If so, you'll appreciate ScholarWorks' Advanced Search options to find exactly what you need. You can then save your search and be notified via email whenever new content matching your search is added to the collection.

There’s more than Walden dissertations and doctoral studies in ScholarWorks. You’ll find a plethora of unique content including journals published by Walden University, book chapters, data sets, technical reports, and even audiovisual materials. To start exploring, visit ScholarWorks today.

New Research Starters by Population

By: Amanda Solomon


The Library has two new Research Starters. These guides are designed to help you begin research on a specific population.

The Indigenous, Tribal, and Native Peoples Research Starter is designed to serve as a gateway to the Library's resources related to indigenous, tribal, and native peoples, broken down by subject area and resource type. The guide allows you to explore our collections related to these populations and offers search tips.

The People with Disabilities Research Starter explores the Library's resources related to people with disabilities. This guide covers specific resources and provides helpful instructions for searching within the collection.

These new research guides are the newest additions to the Library’s Research Starters collection. The Library also has an African American Research Starter and an LGBT Research Starter.

We welcome your ideas for populations to add as we continue to develop this collection.

The Library in Numbers

 

 

Library monthly average statistics:

  • 101 Doctoral appointments
  • 263 Chat sessions
  • 9 Webinars with 397 attendees
  • 875 Emails answered

Doctoral Student Referral

If you have a doctoral student who is struggling with research, information literacy, or any other library related skill, please fill out the Student Referral Form. We will reach out to the student and do our best to assist them. 

Library Lab Suggestions

Is there a research topic you feel your students are struggling with? Or an assignment that requires intense and in depth research? Perhaps there's a resource that students are struggling to navigate? Please provide us with some suggestions for library lab topics you'd like to see us cover and we'd be happy work with you to create it.

For Fun...

20 Summer Must Reads according to TED speakers

Who doesn’t love a good TED talk? Now, popular TED (Technology, Entertainment and Design) speakers have chosen 20 books to read this summer. The diverse selection includes poetry, popular fiction, self-help, memoir, and even a board book for babies.

Find a new read and hit the beach!

Meet a Librarian

By: Amanda Solomon


Get to know the Walden Library Librarians. A new Librarian will be featured in every newsletter! 

Meet Jon Allinder!

Jon Allinder

  1. What is your job at the library?
    My position is IT Librarian, and I have been with Walden for nine years this summer!
  2. What do you like the most about working at the Walden Library?
    My role has changed a lot in the past nine years, and I’ve been involved in many different projects. As a result, I feel like I’m always learning something new and developing professionally, which means I’m never bored!
  3. What book or series are you reading now?
    I’m currently reading The Stories of English, written by David Crystal. This was a random pickup at a used bookstore, and it’s turning out to be a hugely interesting history of the English language.
  4. What do you like to do in your free time?
    Well, I read whenever I can, though with two small children it can be hard! I enjoy gardening quite a bit, and spend a big chunk of my free time tinkering in the backyard with all the different plants we have growing. We’re also raising chickens for the first time, so that adds a little twist to the usual backyard activity we have going on.
  5. Anything else we should know about you?
    For a librarian I have a terribly organized book collection. I own a lot of books, and they are piled everywhere in no discernable order. Personally, I like the adventure of trying to find a particular book by digging through shelves and piles, but it’s not what people expect when they visit my home.

The Digital Divide and Digital Literacy: You’re Not the Only One Who Can’t Open a PDF

By: Evan Silverstein


More people than you may think do not have regular access to the internet. According to a 2018 Pew survey, 15% of Americans have don’t have high speed access to the internet via their own personal computer or smartphone. Five percent only have access via a smartphone. Minorities, older populations, and lower income groups are even less likely to have internet access. (see Pew Research Center Survey, 2018 ). The "digital divide" refers to the disparity between the disadvantaged members of communities, especially the poor, rural, elderly, and people with disabilities, who do not have consistent personal internet access and those who do. If you’ve been in a public library recently, you more than likely witnessed rows of computers and a line of people waiting to use them. In the past 15 years, the mission of public libraries has shifted away from access to physical books and towards providing at least temporary access to the internet.

But once folks achieve access, they still need to know how to use and make sense of all the information and tools the internet provides. The ability to utilize and make sense of the internet is known as “digital literacy.” Digital literacy is fundamental to life in the U.S. and beyond. It’s necessary for core needs, such as applying for jobs and government benefits (see Digital Literacy Fact Sheet). Furthermore, the ability to not just access but also interpret and convey digital information has become increasingly important to fully immerse yourself in the economic, political, and social aspects of not just America, but of the world.

There are many resources available to help increase digital literacy across populations. The Digital Literacy portal is a valuable resource to both those looking to increase their own digital literacy as well as practitioners who are delivering digital literacy training and services in their communities. Begun by a federal interagency working group dedicated to increasing digital literacy, the Digital Literacy portal conveniently provides resources for people across all age groups and stages of learning.

As an online university, Walden, of course, has a particular interest in supporting the digital literacy of its faculty and students. We have a number resources, such as Library Skills Guides, or QuickAnswers, readily available for our worldwide community. The Walden Library can also walk students through the digital research process step-by-step via its Ask a Librarian service. Additionally, Walden’s Customer Care team is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week by phone, via online chat, or via e-mail to help with basic technical support and administrative questions.

The Art of Asking Questions

By: Emily Adams


Have you ever asked a question and received an answer that didn't answer your question? Or where the answer made you realize that you had asked the wrong question? In the Library, we get a lot of questions. You could even say we specialize in answering questions!  

As you're getting ready to ask a question, whether to a librarian or anyone else, here are three things to consider: 

  • Who might know the answer to your question? 
  • What is it you need or want to know? 
  • Have you provided enough context for your question? 

Sometimes it can be tricky to know whom to contact with questions about course readings and the Library. When in doubt, you can always email the Library Liaison email address (libraryliaison@mail.waldenu.edu), and your question will be routed to your subject liaison. And once you’ve established contact with your subject liaison, you can email her/him directly for any further library questions.

When we talk to students about asking questions, we always encourage them to provide as much information as they can. The same holds true for faculty. The more information you give us at the beginning, the better able we will be to provide you with a timely and complete answer!

We are here to help all Walden faculty and students successfully navigate and use the Walden Library. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with your questions!

Upcoming Library Labs & Webinars

Please feel free to share these Library labs with your students!

Faculty Feedback Corner

Please provide us with any suggestions about the newsletter or any other ideas you may have!

Contact Us

Please contact the Library at libraryliaison@waldenu.edu if you have any questions, content ideas or are having difficulty accessing newsletter content.