Skip to main content
Print Page Report a broken link

Walden University Awards:
Leadership Excellence Award

Walden celebrates the accomplishments of the university community—students, new graduates and those who supported them, alumni, and faculty—through a number of annual awards.

This award recognizes doctoral student excellence as a leader who embodies the ideals expressed in the Walden University Mission. Presented bi-annually (Summer and Winter Commencement) for Distinguished Leadership, Scholarship, and Mentorship honoring a graduating doctoral student for leadership contributions that have increased in breadth and depth to the Walden University communities during his or her doctoral program.


Nominations open: March 26, 2021

Recipient announced: National Faculty Meeting

Nominees: Graduating Doctoral Students

Nominators: Faculty

Eligibility and Criteria

General Criteria

The Leadership Excellence Award recognizes doctoral students who have made outstanding contributions through their leadership to the Walden University community over the duration of their time at Walden. Although the student’s academic record will be part of the criteria for eligibility, the breadth and depth of their leadership will be considered as well.

Eligibility for nomination is based on Walden’s core values of scholarship, leadership and service. Award recipients must be in good academic and disciplinary standing and demonstrate a balance of academic and co-curricular excellence. A minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 is expected for award recipients.

  • Students must be eligible for graduation by May 31, 2021.
  • Student Resume or CV
  • Faculty Nomination (no more than 1 page)

Award Process

  • One doctoral student will be selected per college as the college winner
    • Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership
    • College of Health Professions
    • College of Management & Technology
    • College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • One doctoral student as the overall winner.

Note: in total, there will be 5 winners: 4 college winners and 1 overall winner chosen from the 4 college winners.  The 1 overall winner will be invited to the Board of Directors meeting for presentation of the award.


Nominate a Doctoral student

Only faculty can nominate a student for this award.

Previous Recipients

Winter 2021: Nadia Delanoy, PhD, College of Management and Technology

Summer 2020: Xellex Rivera, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Winter 2020: Shagranda Traveler, College of Management and Technology

Summer 2019: Mary Mollway, Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership

Winter 2019: Kimberly Wilson, Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership

Summer 2018: Lamonte B. Tyler, College of Management and Technology