Skip to main content
Print Page Report a broken link

Walden University Awards:
Academic Performance Award

Walden celebrates the accomplishments of the university community—students, new graduates and those who supported them, alumni, and faculty—through a number of annual awards.

This award recognizes excellence in academic performance as an undergraduate student who embodies the ideals expressed in Walden University’s core values and a commitment to serving humankind.  Presented bi-annually (Summer and Winter Commencement) for Distinguished Scholarship, Service and Citizenship honoring a graduating undergraduate for excellence in scholarship.


Nominations open: March 26, 2021

Recipient announced: National Faculty Meeting

Nominees: Graduating Undergraduate Students

Nominators: Faculty


General Criteria

The Academic Performance award recognizes undergraduate students who have demonstrated academic excellence by maintaining a 3.0 cumulative GPA and provided outstanding service over the duration of their time at Walden. 

Eligibility for nomination is based on Walden’s core value of scholarship.  Award recipients must be in good academic and disciplinary standing and demonstrate a balance of academic and co-curricular excellence.  A minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 is expected for award recipients.

  • Students must be eligible for graduation by May 31, 2021.
  • Faculty Nomination (no more than 1 page)

Award Process

  • One undergraduate student will be selected per college as the college winner
    • Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership
    • College of Health Professions
    • College of Management & Technology
    • College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
    • School of Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Studies
  • One undergraduate student will be selected as the overall winner.

Note: in total, there will be 6 winners: 5 college winners and 1 overall winner chosen from the 5 college winners.  The 1 overall winner will be invited to the Board of Directors meeting for the presentation of the award.


Nominate a Undergraduate student

Only faculty can nominate a student for this award.

Previous Recipients

Winter 2021: Daniela Hernández Sánchez, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, College of Management and Technology

Summer 2020: Shelly Elkington, College of Health Professions

Winter 2020: Brian Campbell, College of Health Professions

Summer 2019: Rachel Colletta, College of Health Professions

Winter 2019: Carolyn Klug, College of Health Professions

Summer 2018: Lourdes A. Rodriguez, Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership