If a candidate has an academic grievance, they should refer to the Process for Petitions, Appeals, Grievances, and Complaints section of the Walden University Student Handbook (under Section 3. Student Expectations and Responsibilities, Student Conduct and Responsibilities, and Code of Conduct) for specific directions.
Academic Grievances
If a candidate has an academic grievance, they should refer to the “Student Appeals and Grievances” section of the Walden University Student Handbook for specific directions. (From the student handbook home page, select the “Section 3: Student Expectations and Responsibilities” tab on the navigation menu; then select “Student Conduct and Responsibilities” to find the link to “Student Appeals and Grievances.”)
Acknowledgment of Receipt
After a candidate completely reads the EdS in Educational Leadership and Administration (Principal Preparation) Program Candidate Handbook, they should sign the Acknowledgment of Receipt Form and return it as directed in the first course in the program, EDSP 7002. This form can be found in the candidate’s ePortfolio.
Background Checks
Background checks are investigations into one or more of the following: employment history, criminal records, driving records, education records, drug test results, and sex offender lists. Prospective employers will usually require these types of checks before hiring a candidate to work with school-aged students.
The Riley College does not require a candidate to submit a criminal background or sex offender check as part of its program requirements; however, it is critical that candidates know the implications of having a criminal history. Because each school site or district may have specific requirements regarding criminal, sex offender, and other background checks for candidates conducting their field experiences at the site, it is important that candidates discuss this issue with the site as soon as the Office of Field Experiences notifies them of an impending placement.
Which Background Checks Are Most Important for Candidate Awareness?
The most commonly required background checks are criminal history (including illegal substances and alcohol) and checks of sex offender lists. However, again, the specific requirements vary state to state and even district to district and school to school.
What Should Candidates Know About Criminal Histories?
Any conviction, even one for which a candidate successfully has completed probation, is part of their criminal history. This includes convictions for drug and alcohol offenses and any misdemeanor offenses. (Certain exceptions may apply, such as sealed records or records that have been expunged.) If a candidate does not report all of them, and if something is discovered in the clearance process, the idea that they were hiding something legally requested could be enough to keep the candidate from obtaining licensure. A state or district will wonder what else the candidate is hiding.
Why Does Criminal History Matter?
It is important to understand that educator licensure in any state is partly dependent upon a candidate’s character, which includes but is not limited to any criminal background or sex offender history. The state has a responsibility to ensure not only that a candidate is qualified by academic credentials, but that they also have a good character to work with school-aged students. This is one reason Walden focuses on professional dispositions and a code of ethics in evaluating principal candidates.
Proof of Immunization and TB Clearance
Because each school site or district may vary in its requirements regarding proof of immunizations and tuberculosis (TB) clearance for those who are working with students at the site, it is important that candidates discuss this with their impending placement site. Some placement sites may require proof of recent TB clearance and immunization to specified diseases.
Dependent Care Policy
While conducting field experiences, Walden University principal candidates are considered invitees at their approved placement site, and time spent at the site must be focused on completing the field experience and program requirements. Therefore, principal candidates are not allowed to bring their dependent child or other family member to their placement site during field experiences unless the dependent is an enrolled student at the placement site.
Code of Ethics
The Minnesota Board of School Administrators has a published Code of Ethics for School Administrators (available as Appendix D). This code represents the standards of professional conduct expected of all school administrators and must be strictly followed. It is critical that all principal candidates are well versed in each part of the code and begin assuming the stance it describes immediately upon commencing the EdS in Educational Leadership and Administration (Principal Preparation) program. Failure to adhere to these standards will result in disciplinary action, up to and including expulsion from the program.
For Ohio applicants, the Licensure Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators represents the standards of professional conduct expected of all educators, including principals, and must be strictly followed. It is critical that all principal candidates are well versed in each part of the code and begin assuming the stance it describes immediately upon commencing the EdS in Educational Leadership and Administration (Principal Preparation) program. Failure to adhere to these standards will result in disciplinary action, up to and including expulsion from the program. The Ohio code of conduct can be found in Appendix E or in its entirety on the Ohio Department of Education website (http://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Equity/Ohio-s-Educator-Standards/Ohio_Principal_Standards.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US ).
Liability Insurance
Many school districts require educators working in U.S. public schools to carry professional liability insurance. Walden University requires all principal candidates to purchase and show proof of having professional liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000, which covers them as a student during all field experiences.. Candidates are responsible for submitting proof of their insurance coverage at the beginning of the third course in the program, EDSP 7201. Detailed submittal instructions will be provided in the course.
Candidates must provide proof of insurance before a field placement can be made. Failure to submit the form by the end of the second week in ESDP 7201 will result in the cancellation of the candidate’s registration for the first field experience course, EDSP 7801, and EDSP 7202. Once the candidate completes the form, and their first field experience placement is secured, the candidate will be registered for the next offering of EDSP 7801 and EDSP 7202.
Walden suggests researching professional organizations that may offer discounted professional liability coverage as a benefit to its student members. For example, the Association of American Educators is a professional organization that offers liability insurance and other student membership benefits that candidates may want to consider.
Nondiscrimination and Nonharrassment Policies
In Walden’s Code of Conduct, the university maintains the following nondiscrimination and nonharassment policies.
Nondiscrimination
Walden University does not discriminate or tolerate discrimination by or against members of the university community on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, religion, age, mental or physical disability, veteran status, marital status, or other protected characteristics in the admission to, access to, or treatment or employment in any of its programs or activities.
Nonharassment
Walden University is committed to maintaining an environment that is free of unwelcome and disrespectful conduct and communication and in which university members feel safe and comfortable. As such, it is a violation of this policy for any Walden employee, instructor, or student to engage in harassing conduct or communication directed toward another employee, instructor, student, or any other person affiliated with the university. Sexual harassment can include, but is not limited to, unwelcome sexual advances; requests for sexual favors; unwelcome physical contact; inappropriate emails; obscene or harassing phone calls or jokes; suggestive gestures, sounds, or stares; and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature when:
- Submission to such conduct is made, either explicitly or implicitly, a term or condition of a student’s academic progress;
- Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for decisions affecting assessment of academic progress; or
- Such conduct, by instructors, staff, or students, including between students, has the purpose or effect of interfering with academic performance or creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive environment.
Unwelcome conduct of this nature, directed at others and based on other protected characteristics, such as race, sexual orientation, gender, religion, age, and other characteristics as set forth in the university’s nondiscrimination policy, violates both the nonharassment policy and the nondiscrimination policy.
Student Safety/Title IX
Walden’s notice of nondiscrimination and procedures for students, faculty, and staff reporting of sexual misconduct, sexual discrimination, or other related reports may be found in the Walden University Student Handbook and by visiting Walden’s Student Safety/Title IX page.
If a student has been a victim of any form of sexual violence, harassment, or discrimination (or knows someone who has), whether at a Walden-sponsored event or at the field experience site, the first priority is the student’s own personal safety. After the student is safe, they should contact either the Office of Field Experiences (educationfield@mail.waldenu.edu) or Walden’s Title IX coordinator. The Title IX coordinator is responsible for receiving and processing, in a timely manner, reports from students, faculty, staff, and administrators regarding rights and responsibilities concerning sexual misconduct in violation of Title IX. Any questions or complaints regarding Title IX may be referred to Walden’s Title IX coordinator or Title IX deputy coordinator or to the Office of Civil Rights.
Students, faculty, or staff members may report any incidents of sexual misconduct or discrimination in association with university activities to the following individuals who have been designated to handle these reports:
Title IX Coordinator (Lead)
Gina Dyson, Associate Dean, Office of Student Affairs
100 S Washington Ave #1210, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone: 667-217-1974
Email: TitleIX@mail.waldenu.edu
Title IX Deputy Coordinator
Julie K. Ogren, Associate Director, Office of Student Affairs
100 S Washington Ave #1210, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone: 443-892-0376
Email: TitleIX@mail.waldenu.edu
Safety and Security
Candidates have the right to feel safe and secure during their field experience placements throughout their program. Before a candidate starts a field experience placement, it is critical to learn about the safety procedures in the school in which they are placed. Candidates should talk to their host teacher, cooperating teacher, and/or principal to learn about the local policies and procedures implemented at the school, including lockdown drills, fire drills, and other emergency guidelines. Often, these safety materials are available online.
If candidates ever feel their safety is at risk at their field experience placement site, they should follow the safety procedures established by the school and leave the situation immediately after appropriate checkout. They should also contact Walden University at 1-800-925-3368. Both the candidates and the field experience sites have the right to cancel the field experience at any time if there is a concern about safety and security.
Supporting Student Services
Student Wellness and Disability Services
Student Wellness and Disability Services is dedicated to providing barrier-free access to Walden’s educational services. Walden will work with principal candidates to provide personalized support services and accommodations for disabilities. If assistance is needed, candidates should visit the Student Wellness and Disability Services website and contact Student Wellness and Disability Services as soon as possible in the program.
If a candidate anticipates the need for disability-related accommodations during field experience, the candidate must contact Walden’s Student Wellness and Disability Services (disability@mail.waldenu.edu) at least 2 weeks before matriculation into the program. Student Wellness and Disability Services staff will work with the candidate and the Office of Field Experiences to help ensure that field placement sites are prepared to accommodate the candidate. Failure to officially request accommodations through Walden’s Student Wellness and Disability Services in a timely manner will delay a candidate’s field placement.
Career Planning and Development
Taking a proactive approach to developing and managing a career is an important part of lifelong learning. Career Planning and Development offers resources and advice to help candidates navigate their career paths. Whether a candidate is looking to change jobs or enhance a current professional role, the center encourages setting goals, building a professional network, and active stewardship of career progress from the very start of an academic program. For more information or to schedule a counseling appointment, candidates should visit the Career Planning and Development website.