For this week's assignment, you will learn how to search for and locate a quantitative article involving t-Tests that relates to your discipline by:
Start your search by entering a database that fits your subject area with these steps:
1. On the Library homepage, go to the Subject Resources box.
2. Click on Select a subject, and choose the subject area that matches your program of study from the list.
3. Once you have clicked on a subject, scroll down until you see databases and choose one by clicking on its name.
Once you are in a database, you will see a search screen with multiple search boxes. We need to set up our search:
We will build an example search below for articles that use a t-Test with the topic of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder in the database called SocINDEX with Full Text:
1. In the first search box, type:
Note: The quote marks "glue" this together as an exact word with the hyphen so the database will search for this just as we have typed it.
2. For this example topic, type in the second box:
attention deficit hyperactivity disorder
Note: Some methodologies are rarely used for certain research topics. You may need to broaden your search topic to find a study that uses this methodology.
The search boxes will look like this:
3. Click Search.
4. Look in the article titles and abstracts to determine if the methods used in the article include t-Tests. You can also look in the Subjects listed for an article:
Refer back to the Evaluate your results box for Week 1 for more help.
Note: Articles may use more than one method in their quantitative analysis of data. You can use an article even if it uses other methods along with t-Tests. For instance, an article my use ANOVA and t-Test to analyze data.
Try it and test yourself:
The following tutorial will show you how to use our database SAGE Research Methods Online to find information about quantitative methodologies, including t-Tests:
Here are the steps to search inside SAGE Research Methods Online for more information on t-Tests:
2. Under Search by Type, click on Dictionaries & Encyclopedias.
3. Choose the tab on the left for Encyclopedias & Handbooks.
5. Type the method into the search box:
6. Click the Search button.
You will now see your results with a definition of the t-Test method above the results list. It will look like this: