Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education Candidate Guidebook:

Part 1. Program Information

1. The OFE makes all placements for candidates, based on when candidates plan to take field experience courses, as noted on their Plan of Study. A Plan of Study is submitted during EDUC 2400. No changes to a Plan of Study can be made unless (1) the change does not impact when the candidate is scheduled to take a field experience course, or (2) the candidate is required to retake a professional core course.
2. The OFE ensures all candidates have at least one placement in a primary and one in an intermediate setting throughout the course of the program. 
3. The OFE ensures candidates complete field experiences in at least two schools across their program.
4. The OFE ensures candidates are placed in at least one diverse setting.
5. The OFE collaborates with districts and schools to make the placement and verify host and cooperating teacher qualifications.
6. The OFE tracks all experiences and collects evaluations and assessments of the candidate’s professional dispositions from the candidate’s host teacher (field experience) and cooperating teacher (DT).
7. All placement data are tracked by the OFE.
8. Qualified and trained university supervisors are responsible for supervision of each candidate during DT.

Specific expectations for field experiences and DT are described in detail in the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. The handbook includes the policies, structure, and placement requirements. The handbook includes the policies, structure, and placement requirements. The handbook is located in the ePortfolio and on the Field Experience website.

Host and Cooperating Teachers

The teacher of the classroom in which a candidate completes their early field experiences is referred to as the host teacher. The qualifications for the host teachers are outlined in the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. Host teachers will be asked to complete an evaluation on each candidate’s knowledge, skills, and professional dispositions. They will also verify the number of hours spent in the field. Candidates are responsible for submitting evaluations and time sheets for verification in their ePortfolio.

The teacher of the classroom in which a candidate completes their DT is referred to as the cooperating teacher. The qualifications for cooperating teachers are outlined in the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. The cooperating teacher will participate in Triad Meetings with the candidate and university supervisor, complete a Demonstration Teaching Evaluation, and an evaluation on the candidate’s professional dispositions. At the conclusion of the DT experience, the cooperating teacher will also verify the number of weeks the candidate spent in the field.

For more information on the evaluation of DT performance, see the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook.

Identifying Preferred Placement Sites 

The OFE makes all placements for teacher candidates. However, candidates need to submit a Preferred Placement Form that identifies local school districts and organizations and provides their contact information. The form is due during EDUC 2400 - The Professional Educator, the first course of the professional program. Failure to complete the Preferred Placement Form by the posted deadline will result in a hold being placed on the candidate’s record, which will prevent registration in professional courses.

Placement at a preferred site is not guaranteed. The OFE will make every effort to place candidates according to their indicated preferences, provided the site meets program requirements. Once a placement has been confirmed, the OFE will notify the candidate of their placement site to the candidate’s Walden email address. All email communication between the OFE and candidates will take place via the Walden email server, as per university policy. 

No Demonstration Teaching During Summer or Winter Months

Important note: The BSEE program does not offer courses that require field experiences during the summer quarter, and limited courses that require field experiences during the winter quarter. There is no option of DT during the summer or winter quarter.

Diversity of Field Experiences

Diversity in field experiences is highly valued. Candidates will be placed in sites that meet a range of exceptionalities and meet the program’s diversity criteria in gender, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, home language, and learning exceptionalities. At a minimum, candidates will be placed in one site classified as diverse. Placements will be tracked by the OFE to ensure candidates have experiences in diverse settings.

Teacher candidates are also exposed to a wide range of diverse classroom settings through the VFE® in each course.

All DT placements will take place in a public school, unless extenuating circumstances exist, and a private school placement is approved.

Criminal, Sex Offender, and Other Background Checks

Although the college does not require a background and sex offender check, it is critical that candidates know the implications of having a criminal history in the state of Minnesota. Field experience and DT sites may require background checks. For specific information and recommended actions, see the Background Checks section in Part 3 of this guidebook. Upon admission, candidates are required to submit a signed acknowledgment form stating they have received information about criminal background checks.

Because each site may have specific requirements of observers or volunteers regarding criminal, sex offender, and other background checks, it is important that candidates discuss this issue with their host teacher as soon as the OFE notifies them of an impending placement.

Professional Liability Insurance

Many school districts require teachers working in U.S. schools to carry professional liability insurance. Walden University requires all candidates to purchase and show proof of professional liability insurance in the amount of $1 million per year, which covers them as a student during all field experiences. Candidates are responsible for completing the Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form (located in the candidate’s ePortfolio) during EDUC 6605 - Teacher as Lifelong Learner and Professional Educator, the first course in the program. This must be renewed and submitted throughout the program. Failure to complete the Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form or renewal by the deadline will result in a hold on the candidate’s record, preventing registration for the subsequent semester, and will delay the candidate’s placement.

Candidates can research professional organizations that may offer discounted professional liability coverage as a benefit to their student members. The following list of professional organizations offer liability insurance as well as other student membership benefits candidates may want to consider: 

• Association of American Educators (AAE)—http://aaeteachers.org/index.php/pages/liability-insurance
• National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)— https://www.naeyc.org/get-involved/membership/benefits
• Council for Exceptional Children—http://www.cec.sped.org/

Proof of Immunization and TB Clearance

Because each site may vary in its requirements of observers and volunteers regarding proof of immunizations and tuberculosis (TB) clearance, it is important that candidates discuss this with their impending placement sites. Some placement sites may require proof of recent TB clearance and immunization to specified diseases.

Professionalism

Remember to maintain a professional attitude with respect to confidential information about children and with respect to relationships and practices with colleagues.

Also, it is important that candidates dress appropriately in the field and present themselves as educators. Even if other teacher candidates (or, for that matter, classroom teachers) do not dress professionally, Walden candidates need to remember that there is only one chance to make a good first impression and that Walden candidates in the classroom are role models for young people. All personal electronic devices should be turned off when in the professional setting.

Ethical and Legal Conduct: The candidate demonstrates professionalism as outlined by legal and ethical guidelines within the profession.

1. Demonstrates professional behavior as described in Walden’s Code of Conduct.
2. Demonstrates ethical behavior as described by professional codes of ethics.

Professional Obligations: The candidate meets professional obligations in a responsible manner.

1. Maintains a strong record of attendance and punctuality, communicating in advance the need for any absences.
2. Prepares for professional obligations and meets expected deadlines.

Professional Appearance and Demeanor: The candidate demonstrates professional appearance and behaviors in the educational setting.

1. Maintains an appropriate and professional appearance in accordance with the school policy.
2. Approaches teaching and learning tasks with initiative, confidence, and energy.
3. Exhibits composure and self-control.
4. Demonstrates flexibility in adapting to changing circumstances and student needs.

Professional Development/Growth: The candidate engages in ongoing professional development and growth to improve professional practice.

1. Engages in continuous learning through participation in professional development opportunities and other activities to enhance their professional practices, use of technology, and culturally responsive practices.
2. Applies new ideas to professional practice based on data, reflection, and intellectual curiosity.
3. Engages in ongoing critical reflection of personal performance to improve professional practice and affect positive social change.
4. Responds positively to feedback and constructive criticism to strive for continuous improvement.

Advocacy: The candidate advocates for fairness, equity, and social change in the learning environment.

1. Displays empathy, persistence, problem-solving skills, and engages in mutual inquiry and learning.
2. Advocates for the social, emotional, physical, educational, behavioral, and basic needs of others.
3. Promotes positive social change to enhance inclusive educational opportunities and promote student learning.

Equity: The candidate demonstrates culturally responsive practices to create an inclusive learning environment that is respectful of diverse cultures, values, and beliefs of others.

1. Displays equitable treatment of others.
   1. Sets high expectations for all learners, reflective of their diverse strengths and needs.
   2. Treats others with respect and dignity by creating person-centered relationships where mutual understanding and learning occurs.
   3. Differentiates strategies to support strengths and needs of all learners. 
2. Engages in culturally responsive practices in interactions with students, families, colleagues, and communities while understanding how their own biases and experiences may affect their teaching.
3. Creates positive and inclusive learning environments that promote respect, equity, and cultural competence.
4. Engages families and other stakeholders in planning for individual and group success.

Collaboration: The candidate works in collaboration with others to improve student learning and advance the profession.

1. Builds partnerships and fosters person-centered relationships with stakeholders to improve student learning and advance the profession.
2. Collaborates with students, families, colleagues, and the community to promote positive social change.
3. Uses a variety of technological tools to enhance collaboration, strengthen partnerships, and foster relationships with others to improve teaching and learning.

Communication: The candidate uses effective verbal, nonverbal, and technological communication techniques to foster active inquiry, improve collaboration, and create positive interactions in the learning environment.

1. Actively and thoughtfully listens to all stakeholders to promote understanding and to review academic progress.
2. Adjusts communication to meet the needs of individual learners and changing circumstances.
3. Engages in professional and respectful communication in a timely manner.
4. Acknowledges and respects ideas and/or feelings of others; makes others feel welcome, valued, and appreciated in their communications.

• If, at any time during the program, any instructor, staff member, or teacher in contact with the candidate observes that the candidate is not adhering to one or more of the professional dispositions, they should complete a Professional Disposition Concern Form. In the quest to develop good teachers, addressing professional disposition concerns or offenses is an ongoing process. This commitment lets candidates know that they are held accountable to the highest standards and are supported in their steps to improve.
• At each transition point, all professional disposition concerns must be resolved by a candidate for that candidate to continue in the teacher preparation program.
• Any unresolved professional disposition concerns may lead to the postponement and/or cancellation of a field experience placement including DT.
• Any candidate in the Riley College may be subject to further disciplinary sanctions (as defined by the Walden University Student Handbook), up to and including dismissal, if more than three Professional Disposition Concern Forms are submitted in any academic year, regardless of whether or not the candidate has resolved the concerns.

• The individual (e.g., course instructor, program coordinator, university supervisor, or cooperating teacher) with the concern completes a Professional Disposition Concern Form and submits the form to the director of the OFE and the respective program coordinator (or designee).

• The director of the OFE, the program coordinator, or designee schedules a telephone conference with the candidate, the individual who filed the concern, and/or other parties who may be directly involved (school administrator, cooperating teacher, or Walden faculty member).
• The purpose of the conference is to investigate the disposition concern. The program coordinator (or designee) outlines the concerns and invites the candidate to respond.
• During the conference call and through a collaborative process, the team determines if an improvement plan is needed to resolve the disposition concern.* If an improvement plan is needed, action steps are discussed during the conference call.
• The agreed upon action steps for improvement are documented on the disposition concern form during the meeting and sent out to the team along with a timeline for further review.
• The program coordinator (or designee) follows-up on the candidate’s progress towards meeting the action steps outlined in the improvement plan to determine if the disposition concern has been resolved.
• Once the disposition has been resolved, the matter is closed, and the updated form is placed in the candidate’s -ePortfolio along with the meeting notes and improvement plan. No further action is taken unless additional disposition concerns arise.
• If the disposition has not been resolved, the program coordinator and the director of the OFE will meet with the associate dean to determine if further plans for support can be implemented or if the student should be counseled out of the program and provided with other options.
• If the academic leadership team determines the candidate should be counseled out/removed from the program, a final meeting will occur and a formal letter will be sent from the associate dean. The candidate may appeal the decision of the team to the Dean of the College of Education and Human Sciences. The appeal policy is outlined in the decision letter.

* Note: If the concern is of a serious nature that could compromise the safety or well-being of children and/or others, the candidate will be removed from any field placement until the issue has been resolved. The candidate may also be counseled out of the program.

Teacher candidates who are admitted in the BSEE program are admitted provisionally. Clearing of the provision of admission requires the following:

• Cumulative Walden grade point average (GPA) of 2.5 (this does not include transfer courses).
• Minimum of 45 total credits completion (including transfer and Walden credits).

Once the provision of admission has been cleared, candidates are conditionally admitted into the program and may begin the professional core courses.

Teacher candidates can expect to be officially admitted into the program upon completing the first six courses of the professional core and completing the below requirements:

1. Candidates must submit a completed Preferred Placement Form during EDUC 2400, the first professional core course in the program. Failure to do so will impact the candidate’s future registration and will delay a candidate’s placement.
2. Candidates must submit a completed Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form during EDUC 2400, the first professional core course in the program. Failure to do so will impact the candidate’s future registration and will delay a candidate’s placement.
3. Candidates must submit a Plan of Study during EDUC 2400, the first professional core course in the program. Failure to do so will impact the candidate’s future registration and will delay a candidate’s placement.
4. Candidates must submit a Writing Sample during EDUC 2400.
5. Candidates must submit a time sheet and host teacher evaluation in EDUC 3052, which is the first field experience course the candidate takes.
6. All program course requirements must be successfully completed with any and all Incomplete grades resolved.
7. Candidates’ GPAs will be monitored throughout the professional core courses. Candidates must achieve a 3.0 GPA by the end of each transition point in the program. Within each transition point, if, at any time, a candidate’s GPA falls below 2.5, the candidate will be placed on academic warning. Candidates need to have a cumulative 3.0 GPA in all professional core courses by the end of each transition point or they will be placed on warning. Candidates should refer to the Academic Warning section in the Walden University Student Handbook for more information.

Upon successful completion of these requirements, teacher candidates will be fully admitted into the BSEE program and will move into their third transition point.

Candidates can expect to complete all of the components of Transition Point 3 by the end of all professional coursework prior to DT

1. Maintain a cumulative program GPA of 3.0 or above in all professional courses to be approved for DT.
2. Submit a completed Application for Demonstration Teaching by the appropriate deadline.
3. Successfully complete all program course requirements, with any and all Incomplete grades resolved.
4. Have no unresolved professional disposition concerns.
5. Successfully complete Major Assessments 3, 6, and 7, with a minimum score of 3 on a 4-point scale.
6. Successfully complete the field experience hours, as evidenced by submitted timesheets and host teacher evaluations in all field experience courses.
7. Submit evidence of updated Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form.

1. Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 in all professional courses and a Walden cumulative GPA of 2.5.
2. Successfully complete EDUC 4030 DT in Elementary Education and the Demonstration Teaching Evaluation (Major Assessment
3. Successfully complete the edTPA (Major Assessment 5).
4. Successfully complete the Collaboration Project (Major Assessment 8).
5. Have no unresolved professional disposition concerns.