Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in Special Education (K – Age 21) Candidate Guidebook:

Part 1. Program Information

1. The Office of Field Experience (OFE) makes all placements for candidates.
2. The OFE ensures all candidates have at least one placement in each of the three levels of the license—primary, middle, and secondary school.
3. The OFE ensures all candidates have experiences working with students in mild-to-moderate settings across the disability scope of the Academic and Behavioral Strategist license.
4. The OFE ensures that candidates are placed in at least one setting classified as diverse.
5. The OFE collaborates with districts and schools to make the placement and verify the qualifications of the host and cooperating teachers.
6. The OFE tracks all experiences and collects evaluations and assessments of candidate professional dispositions from the candidates’ host teacher (EFE, IFE) and cooperating teacher (DT). 
7. All placement data are tracked by the OFE.
8. Qualified and trained university supervisors are responsible for supervision of each candidate during DT.

Note: The program offers limited courses during the summer that have field experiences. There is no option of DT during the summer.

Specific expectations for field experiences and DT are described in detail in the program’s Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. Candidates can access this handbook via their ePortfolio and on the Field Experience website.

Host and Cooperating Teachers

The teacher of the classroom in which a candidate completes EFEs and IFEs is referred to as the host teacher. The qualifications for the host teachers are outlined in the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. Host teachers are asked to complete an evaluation on each candidate’s knowledge, skills, and professional dispositions. They also verify the number of hours spent in the field. Candidates are responsible for submitting evaluations and time sheets for verification in their ePortfolio.

The teacher of the classroom in which a candidate completes their DT is referred to as the cooperating teacher. The qualifications for cooperating teachers are outlined in the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook. The cooperating teacher will participate in Triad Meetings with the candidate and university supervisor, complete a Demonstration Teaching Evaluation and an assessment of the candidate’s professional dispositions. At the conclusion of the DT experience, the cooperating teacher verifies the number of weeks the candidate spent in the field.

For more information on the qualifications for host and cooperating teachers and the evaluation of DT performance, see the Field Experience and Demonstration Teaching Handbook.

Identifying Preferred Placement Sites 

The OFE makes all placements for candidates. However, candidates need to submit a Preferred Placement Form that identifies local school districts and organizations and provides their contact information. The form is due during EDUC 6605 - Teacher as Lifelong Learner and Professional Educator, the first course of the program. Failure to complete the Preferred Placement Form by the deadline will result in a hold being placed on the candidate’s record, which will prevent registration for the subsequent semester, and will delay the candidate’s placement.

Placement at a preferred site is not guaranteed. The OFE will make every effort to place candidates according to their indicated preferences, provided the site meets program requirements. Once a placement has been confirmed, the OFE will notify candidates of their placement sites via the candidates’ Walden email addresses. All email communication between the OFE and candidates will take place via the Walden email server, as per university policy. 

Diversity of Field Experiences

Diversity in field experiences is highly valued. Candidates will be placed in sites that meet a range of exceptionalities and meet the program’s diversity criteria in gender, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, home language, and learning exceptionalities. At minimum, candidates will be placed in one site classified as diverse. Placements will be tracked by the OFE to ensure candidates have experience in diverse settings. Candidates are also exposed to a wide range of diverse classroom settings through the VFE® in each course.

All DT placements will take place in a public school, unless extenuating circumstances exist, and a private school placement is approved.

Criminal, Sex Offender, and Other Background Checks

Although the Riley College of Education and Human Sciences does not require a background and sex offender check on candidates, it is critical that candidates know the implications of having a criminal history in the state of Minnesota. Field experience and DT sites may require background checks. 

For specific information and recommended actions, see the “Background Checks” section in Part 3 of this guidebook. Upon admission, candidates are required to submit a signed acknowledgment form stating they received information about criminal background checks.

Because each site may have specific requirements for observers or volunteers regarding criminal, sex offender, and other background checks, it is important that candidates discuss this issue with the site as soon as the OFE notifies them of an impending placement. 

Professional Liability Insurance

Many school districts require teachers working in U.S. schools to carry professional liability insurance. Walden University requires all candidates to purchase and show proof of professional liability insurance in the amount of $1 million per year, which covers them as a student during all field experiences. Candidates are responsible for completing the Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form (located in the candidate’s ePortfolio) during EDUC 6605 - Teacher as Lifelong Learner and Professional Educator, the first course in the program. This must be renewed and submitted throughout the program. Failure to complete the Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form or renewal by the deadline will result in a hold on the candidate’s record, preventing registration for the subsequent semester, and will delay the candidate’s placement.

Candidates can research professional organizations that may offer discounted professional liability coverage as a benefit to their student members. The following list of professional organizations offer liability insurance as well as other student membership benefits candidates may want to consider: 

• Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) 
• Association of American Educators (AAE)U

Proof of Immunization and TB Clearance

Placement sites also vary in their requirements for observers and volunteers regarding proof of immunizations and tuberculosis (TB) clearance, so it is important that candidates discuss this issue with their impending placement sites as well. Some placement sites may require proof of recent TB clearance and immunization to specified diseases.

Professionalism

Remember to maintain a professional attitude with respect to confidential information about children and with respect to relationships and practices with colleagues.

Also, it is important that candidates dress appropriately in the field and present themselves as educators. Even if other teacher candidates (or, for that matter, classroom teachers) do not dress professionally, Walden candidates need to remember that there is only one chance to make a good first impression and that Walden candidates in the classroom are role models for young people. All personal electronic devices should be turned off when in the professional setting.

Ethical and Legal Conduct: The candidate demonstrates professionalism as outlined by legal and ethical guidelines within the profession.

1. Demonstrates professional behavior as described in Walden’s Code of Conduct.
2. Demonstrates ethical behavior as described by professional codes of ethics.

Professional Obligations: The candidate meets professional obligations in a responsible manner.

1. Maintains a strong record of attendance and punctuality, communicating in advance the need for any absences.
2. Prepares for professional obligations and meets expected deadlines.

Professional Appearance and Demeanor: The candidate demonstrates professional appearance and behaviors in the educational setting.

1. Maintains an appropriate and professional appearance in accordance with the school policy.
2. Approaches teaching and learning tasks with initiative, confidence, and energy.
3. Exhibits composure and self-control.
4. Demonstrates flexibility in adapting to changing circumstances and student needs.

Professional Development/Growth: The candidate engages in ongoing professional development and growth to improve professional practice.

1. Engages in continuous learning through participation in professional development opportunities and other activities to enhance their professional practices, use of technology, and culturally responsive practices.
2. Applies new ideas to professional practice based on data, reflection, and intellectual curiosity.
3. Engages in ongoing critical reflection of personal performance to improve professional practice and affect positive social change.
4. Responds positively to feedback and constructive criticism to strive for continuous improvement.

Advocacy: The candidate advocates for fairness, equity, and social change in the learning environment.

1. Displays empathy, persistence, problem-solving skills, and engages in mutual inquiry and learning.
2. Advocates for the social, emotional, physical, educational, behavioral, and basic needs of others.
3. Promotes positive social change to enhance inclusive educational opportunities and promote student learning.

Equity: The candidate demonstrates culturally responsive practices to create an inclusive learning environment that is respectful of diverse cultures, values, and beliefs of others.

1. Displays equitable treatment of others.
   1. Sets high expectations for all learners, reflective of their diverse strengths and needs.
   2. Treats others with respect and dignity by creating person-centered relationships where mutual understanding and learning occurs.
   3. Differentiates strategies to support strengths and needs of all learners. 
2. Engages in culturally responsive practices in interactions with students, families, colleagues, and communities while understanding how their own biases and experiences may affect their teaching.
3. Creates positive and inclusive learning environments that promote respect, equity, and cultural competence.
4. Engages families and other stakeholders in planning for individual and group success.

Collaboration: The candidate works in collaboration with others to improve student learning and advance the profession.

1. Builds partnerships and fosters person-centered relationships with stakeholders to improve student learning and advance the profession.
2. Collaborates with students, families, colleagues, and the community to promote positive social change.
3. Uses a variety of technological tools to enhance collaboration, strengthen partnerships, and foster relationships with others to improve teaching and learning.

Communication: The candidate uses effective verbal, nonverbal, and technological communication techniques to foster active inquiry, improve collaboration, and create positive interactions in the learning environment.

1. Actively and thoughtfully listens to all stakeholders to promote understanding and to review academic progress.
2. Adjusts communication to meet the needs of individual learners and changing circumstances.
3. Engages in professional and respectful communication in a timely manner.
4. Acknowledges and respects ideas and/or feelings of others; makes others feel welcome, valued, and appreciated in their communications.

• If, at any time during the program, any instructor, staff member, or teacher in contact with the candidate observes that the candidate is not adhering to one or more of the professional dispositions, they should complete a Professional Disposition Concern Form. In the quest to develop good teachers, addressing professional disposition concerns or offenses is an ongoing process. This commitment lets candidates know that they are held accountable to the highest standards and are supported in their steps to improve.
• At each transition point, all professional disposition concerns must be resolved by a candidate for that candidate to continue in the teacher preparation program.
• Any unresolved professional disposition concerns may lead to the postponement and/or cancellation of a field experience placement including DT.
• Any candidate in the Riley College may be subject to further disciplinary sanctions (as defined by the Walden University Student Handbook), up to and including dismissal, if more than three Professional Disposition Concern Forms are submitted in any academic year, regardless of whether or not the candidate has resolved the concerns.

One required component of the program is the completion of a professional portfolio. The portfolio demonstrates the candidate’s mastery of the Minnesota Standards of Effective Practice for Teachers, the Minnesota Teachers of Special Education: Academic and Behavioral Strategist, the Minnesota Core Skills for Teachers of Special Education, and the standards set forth by the CEC. 

Because the professional portfolio is electronic (thus referred to as the ePortfolio), candidates can access it any time via their myWalden university portal. Candidates construct and update their portfolios throughout the program by completing a series of major assessments. Various course assignments serve as the foundation for the major assessments. The major assessments are evaluated according to clear performance criteria, as specified on scoring rubrics or guides.

One required component of the program is the completion of a professional portfolio. The portfolio demonstrates the candidate’s mastery of the Minnesota Standards of Effective Practice for Teachers, the Minnesota Teachers of Special Education: Academic and Behavioral Strategist, the Minnesota Core Skills for Teachers of Special Education, and the standards set forth by the CEC. 

Because the professional portfolio is electronic (thus referred to as the ePortfolio), candidates can access it any time via their myWalden university portal. Candidates construct and update their portfolios throughout the program by completing a series of major assessments. Various course assignments serve as the foundation for the major assessments. The major assessments are evaluated according to clear performance criteria, as specified on scoring rubrics or guides.

• The individual (e.g., course instructor, program coordinator, university supervisor, or cooperating teacher) with the concern completes a Professional Disposition Concern Form and submits the form to the director of the OFE and the respective program coordinator (or designee).
• The director of the OFE, the program coordinator, or designee schedules a telephone conference with the candidate, the individual who filed the concern, and/or other parties who may be directly involved (school administrator, cooperating teacher, or Walden faculty member).
• The purpose of the conference is to investigate the disposition concern. The program coordinator (or designee) outlines the concerns and invites the candidate to respond.
• During the conference call and through a collaborative process, the team determines if an improvement plan is needed to resolve the disposition concern.* If an improvement plan is needed, action steps are discussed during the conference call.
• The agreed upon action steps for improvement are documented on the disposition concern form during the meeting and sent out to the team along with a timeline for further review.
• The program coordinator (or designee) follows-up on the candidate’s progress towards meeting the action steps outlined in the improvement plan to determine if the disposition concern has been resolved.
• Once the disposition has been resolved, the matter is closed, and the updated form is placed in the candidate’s -ePortfolio along with the meeting notes and improvement plan. No further action is taken unless additional disposition concerns arise.
• If the disposition has not been resolved, the program coordinator and the director of the OFE will meet with the associate dean to determine if further plans for support can be implemented or if the student should be counseled out of the program and provided with other options.
• If the academic leadership team determines the candidate should be counseled out/removed from the program, a final meeting will occur and a formal letter will be sent from the associate dean. The candidate may appeal the decision of the team to the Dean of the College of Education and Human Sciences. The appeal policy is outlined in the decision letter.

* Note: If the concern is of a serious nature that could compromise the safety or well-being of children and/or others, the candidate will be removed from any field placement until the issue has been resolved. The candidate may also be counseled out of the program.

Candidates who are admitted into Walden’s Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) are admitted conditionally. 

1. A bachelor’s degree, or equivalent, from a U.S. school accredited by a regional, professional/specialized, or national accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) or the U.S. Department of Education, or from an appropriately accredited non-U.S. institution, in a discipline or field related to the program/specialization for which application is made. Note: Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc. (ECE; https://www.ece.org/) must evaluate a degree awarded from a non-U.S. institution as equivalent to a bachelor’s degree awarded by a U.S. institution.

• It is Walden’s policy, consistent with the policy of most states, that all U.S.-licensed educators must complete a degree, either at the bachelor’s or master’s level, from an institution that is regionally accredited and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Walden University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, www.hlcommission.org.
• Degree programs that include a liberal arts or general studies core are advantageous to the future success of teacher candidates. Walden recommends that potential candidates demonstrate completion of college-level work in communication (including composition), humanities, and social/behavioral sciences, as well as in mathematics and natural sciences.

2. A minimum GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale or its equivalent in bachelor’s degree coursework. Candidates with a 2.0–2.49 cumulative GPA are eligible for conditional admission. These applicants must provide a goal statement that includes an explanation of their low GPA, a plan for success, and a rationale for why they should be granted conditional admission to the program. These candidates must meet all requirements of Transition Point 2 before they can continue in their selected programs.
3. Admission requires the completion of all application materials, including a signed acknowledgment of background check and fingerprinting guidelines as well as immunization and TB guidelines.
4. Applicants must have completed at least one college-level course in multicultural and/or global studies. Coursework would include, but is not limited to, global studies, multicultural studies, diversity studies, cultural/ethnic studies, linguistic/language studies, or social studies with an international focus (world or regional economics, sociology, political science, religion). If candidates are not able to fulfill this requirement through coursework as determined by a transcript analysis, they will be referred to the admission committee for a final review. If the admission committee determines that they have no applicable courses in their undergraduate program, the prospective candidates will need to take a course in this area prior to being admitted to the program. They may fulfill this course through Walden or a different institution.

English Language Proficiency 

The main language of instruction at Walden is English; therefore, academic success depends upon a candidate’s ability to converse in, write, and understand English. Therefore, candidates who do not meet at least one of the following exemptions will be required to submit a score from an official test of English proficiency (see Table 4 below for minimum scores):

1. Applicants must possess an associate’s degree or higher from an institution in one of the following countries: Australia, Belize, the British Caribbean and British West Indies, Canada (except Quebec), Guyana, Ireland, Liberia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the United Kingdom, or the United States.
2. The admitting degree is from an institution where the primary language of instruction and evaluation was in English, and for which verification is available through the International Handbook of Universities, published and edited by IAU/UNESCO. Additional information may be requested from the applicant’s university registrar’s office to verify that the instruction was conducted in English.

Table 4. English Language Proficiency Requirements

Candidates can expect to complete the components of Transition Point 2 by the end of their coursework in EDUC 6628 - Individualizing Education Programs for Learners With Exceptionalities (the first two semesters of the program). Additionally, the following requirements must be met: 

1. Submit a completed Preferred Placement Form during EDUC 6605 - Teacher as Lifelong Learner and Professional Educator, the first course in the program.* 
2. Submit a completed Professional Liability Insurance Verification Form during EDUC 6605.* 
3. Submit a writing sample during EDUC 6605.
4. Successfully complete all program course requirements, with any and all Incomplete grades resolved.
5. Have no unresolved professional disposition concerns.
6. Maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 during the first two semesters. (Candidates’ GPAs will be checked at the end of each semester. If, at any point, a candidate’s GPA falls below 3.0, the candidate will be placed on academic warning. Candidates will have two semesters to raise their GPA to the required level.) 

* Failure to submit the required forms during EDUC 6605 will impact the candidate’s future registration and delay the candidate’s placement.

Candidates can expect to complete the components of Transition Point 3 by the end of their coursework in EDUC 6639 - Instructional Strategies for Learners With Exceptionalities: 

1. Maintain a cumulative program GPA of 3.0 or above to be approved for DT.
2. Submit a completed Application for Demonstration Teaching by the appropriate deadline. Candidates who plan to complete Demonstration Teaching during the spring semester (January–April) must submit the application by May 31 of the preceding year; candidates who plan to complete Demonstration Teaching during the fall semester (September–December) must submit the application by January 31.
3. Provide documentation of current professional liability insurance.
4. Successfully complete all program course requirements, with any and all Incomplete grades resolved. 
5. Have no unresolved professional disposition concerns.
6. Successfully complete the major assessments, with a minimum score of 3 on a 4-point scale. 
7. Successfully complete the field experience hours, as evidenced by time sheets and host teacher evaluations.

Candidates complete Transition Point 4 when they successfully complete all program requirements.

1. Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0. 
2. Successfully complete EDUC 6648 - Demonstration Teaching and the Demonstration Teaching Evaluation (Major Assessment 4).
3. Successfully complete all course requirements.
4. Successfully complete all major assessments: edTPA (Major Assessment 5), the Professional Practice Plan (Major Assessment 7), and the Data-Based Individualized Instruction (Major Assessment 8), with a minimum score of 3 on a 4-point scale. 
5. Have no unresolved professional disposition concerns.