Skip to main content

Library Virtual Open House: Open House 2019

Library Open House Prize Entry Rules

How can you win prizes?

  • Be one of the first three people to ask a question or say hi to us on chat from the Open House page and win a $5.00 Amazon gift card. (one per person)
  • Be one of the first 12 people to correctly complete our scavenger hunt and win your choice of a $25.00 gift card for Walden Gear or a $25.00 Amazon gift card. (one per person)
  • Participants in the scavenger hunt or hidden video activities will be eligible to win an Amazon Kindle.

How can you win a Kindle?

  • Find a hidden video of one of our librarians sharing their favorite resource to be entered in a drawing for the Kindle.
  • Correctly complete the scavenger hunt to be entered in a drawing for the Kindle.

The Details

Prizes and entries into the drawing will only be accepted September 30-October 4.

One grand prize drawing entry per person per event or activity completed. Limit of eight drawing entries per person.

All eligible names will be entered into a randomizer website to select the winner of the Kindle.

All prize recipients will be notified by e-mail the week following the open house.

 

Welcome to the Walden Library's 2019 Open House!

 


Monday, September 30 through Friday, October 4, 2019
 

We're glad that you're here, and we hope you'll keep coming back all week long! The Open House exploration and Library-related research adventure activities are designed to serve as both an introduction to, and a reminder of, the many services and resources available to you through the Walden University Library.


List of Open House Activities:
 

  • Library Scavenger Hunt:

    Participants will have the chance to track down hidden items on the Library's website. Who knows what else you might find in the process!
  • Librarian Video Hunt:

    You'll have the opportunity to track down short embedded videos created by Library staff on different pages in the Library. The video will correspond with the staff member's favorite Library resource! 
  • Come Chat With Us!:

    Attendees are encouraged to use the chat function available on the Open House page to reach out and speak with the Librarians. The first three attendees to chat with us each day will win a prize.
  • Virtual Reading Room:

    We've created a virtual reading room for students to peruse fun and helpful e-books in our collection. They've been selected by a few of the library staff and cover multiple areas of interest.
  • Library Case Files:

    Every student is different, and every situation unique. There are a number of library resources and services that can help students during their education journey. Explore this section to find out what might be helpful to your unique situation.

Library Scavenger Hunt 2019

 

Students are invited to participate in our Scavenger Hunt that takes you across different resources in the library. While completing the Scavenger Hunt, keep an eye out for resources you've never seen before! You never know what you might learn while digging through the library!

After completing the Scavenger Hunt, you will be entered to win a Kindle. Each item must be answered correctly, and students can only enter once. 

Click on the Library Scavenger Hunt image to start the scavenger hunt. Good luck!

**See rules for prize entry.

Hints to find Librarian videos on the Walden Library website

Find the Hidden Librarian Resource Videos in the Walden Library
 

To learn more about the librarians, and see clues leading to their hidden videos, click on the tabs for more information.

To enter to win a prize for locating our videos, click on the link below to access the Find the Hidden Librarian Video form. You only need to enter the Librarians you find and provide us with your name and e-mail address. Don't worry if you can't find them all. Each found video will act as another entry for a prize.
 

Find the Hidden Librarian Video Form

Case Notes for Audrey Butlett-Swenson, Business & Management and IT Liaison Librarian
 

Business and IT Liaison Librarian: Audrey Butlett-Swenson

There was nothing suspicious about her disappearance. She had recently provided two webinars and was answering student e-mails when she vanished.

Audrey is known for her love of keeping things organized! Especially materials she's found while researching a given topic. That may be the last place we saw her. 

Where might we find a place in the library that discusses a software that helps collect and organize your literature and citations? If you can find it, you might find her there!

Case Notes for Andrea Lemeiux, Counseling & Psychology Liaison Librarian

Andrea Lemieux: Counseling & Psychology Librarian

 

Andrea had clocked out at the normal time. We think she went mountain biking after work but the weather was iffy.

The next morning she checked in and sent out a few e-mails. Some of the faculty had asked her about interesting books that students might be interested in. Last known location for Andrea was reviewing our e-book collections.
She may have posted a very useful book on the Psychology research homepage!

She might be found there. To be determined.

Criminal Justice & Security Liaison Librarian

CrimJust Vacant


We are currently searching for someone to fill this post. Keep an eye for a new Librarian soon! There isn't a video for this Librarian, so don't worry about trying to track them down!

Case Notes for Anne Rojas, Education Liaison Librarian
 

Anne Rojas: Education Librarian

She spent Monday morning in one the education classrooms providing research instruction and answering questions in that week's discussion. Anne noted many great questions there and looked forward to stopping by the rest of the week.

She was prepping to discuss researching methodology when she vanished. We saw her notes, they pointed towards a database that discusses research methods. That might be where she's currently hiding!   


 


Case Notes for Kim Burton, Education Liaison Librarian 

Kim Burton: Education Librarian

 

Kim was just updating a social media post when she mysteriously vanished from her desk. We think her dog Orry may have been the last to see her.

She is so good at finding just the right thing to post! Hopefully someone had a chance to see what she's done with the Library's Facebook page recently. Maybe you can find a clue to her whereabouts there?

 

Case Notes for Julie James, Nursing Liaison LibrarianJulie James: Nursing Librarian

In between providing labs for NURS 6052 and doctoral appointments for DNP students, Julie went missing from her desk. She is wonderful at reaching out to students and getting them the help they need. We need to find her as soon as possible.

The Librarians aren't always available, so maybe Julie can be found where you can Get Help after hours. I think that's where we should start the search!
 


Case Notes for Lisa Presley, Health Sciences Liaison Librarian

Lisa Presley: Health Sciences Librarian

Lisa was providing a response from our reference desk when we noticed she had gone missing. The e-mail was discussing qualitative research and Lisa most likely went to provide more context for the student by using the main search box on the Walden Library homepage.

Lisa always points out how helpful it is to click on Search Everything above the search field on the Library homepage so you can see results from the Thoreau database, the Library's Web Content, and our Quick Answers.

Amanda Solomon: Social Work & Human Services Librarian

Case Notes for Amanda Solomon, Social Work & Human
Services Liaison Librarian
 

Amanda loves working with her Social Work and Human Services students. She was last seen creating a webinar to help students navigate subject related content. A lot of time has been spent pulling together relevant content for her programs.

 

A good place to look for her might be her subject research home pages. I bet she stepped away to make a special announcement from her favorite resource there!

Case Notes for Lynn VanLeer, Reference & Instruction LibrarianLynn VanLeer: Instruction and Reference Librarian
 

Lynn can find anything! She has mastered the art of looking through the databases to locate articles on just about any topic.

She was last seem selecting a database to help a student locate articles on sustainable apiary practices. Using the databases to her advantage is absolutely one of her favorite things!

We may be able to find her on a library page discussing how to use the databases. Good luck!

Michelle Hajder: Library Director

Case Notes for Michelle Hajder, Library Director
 

Our Director was last seen in a virtual meeting. She was discussing our goals for the year. Michelle is always enthusiastic about what the Library can accomplish to help students and faculty! 

She always says that her staff are her favorite part of the library. Each of the Librarians contributes amazing things to the library, students, and faculty. 


Perhaps she might be hiding on a page that contains information about all of her staff? 

Loading ...

Open House Virtual Reading Room

Come read a book with us!

Some of the Librarians created a small virtual reading room to display a sampling of the library's e-book collection. The e-book collection ranges from academic books to cookbooks.  You never know what you might find in our e-book collection!

Come check out our small curated list just for the open house:

Library Open House Virtual Reading Room

Learn more about our e-book collections:

Quick Answer: How do I find books in the Walden Library? 

Please note that this is just for fun and isn't part of any of the prize activities!

Library Case Files

Explore the Library Case Files!

Click on the tab that matches your situation to view some tips and resources to help you be successful as students and scholars. The only prize here is the list of resources available, which aim to help you in your research and coursework.

Case Studies

 

Tips:

  • A database is a collection of resources (like journal articles and/or e-books). You can search a database to find resources on your topic; just look for a search box and type your topic of interest (such as diabetes or leadership styles).
  • Some databases are general and cover different disciplines, while other databases are very specific to a field (such as social work or nursing). Subject databases work best for very specific topics, while multidisciplinary databases are great for broad or common topics.
  • You can get to the Library home page from your MyWalden student portal homepage. Just browse the upper-left menu or click the box in the center of the MyWalden page to get to the Library.
  • Bookmark library.waldenu.edu in your preferred Internet browser for a quick jump to the Library home page. 
  • For a quick (or broad) search, just type keywords from your topic in the main search box at the top, then press Enter.
  • For subject-specific resources, start with the Select a subject box and choose your program area, such as Education or Nursing.
  • Instead of searching for multiple terms in one box, try putting one concept per box, e.g. disabilities in Box 1 and curriculum in Box 2.
  • When you don't have enough search results, try broadening your topic keywords, e.g. trying United States instead of Illinois.
  • When you have too many search results, use the limiting options on the left (like Peer Reviewed), or try more specific search terms.
  • With our monthly Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! series webinars, you'll master one library skill like a pro in just 30 minutes! 
  • Unsure how to do something in the Library? See it in action with our collection of interactive tutorials and recorded webinars.
  • Struggling with academic writing? The Writing Center offers a paper review service for personalized feedback of your course papers.

Resources:

Hidden Librarian Video Hint:

Articles, schmarticles... when you can't find what you need,

Don't let stress and anxiety dictate your study creed!

It's normal to have times when a search just makes you yelp...

But that's just letting you know that it's time to get help!

Tips:

  • At the start of each course, mark all course assignment or project deadlines in a planner so that you can view the details offline if needed.
  • Browse the Library's extensive collection of recorded webinars. It's almost like being there... but on your schedule.
  • Register to attend a live Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! series webinar. These monthly webinars run from 8:30-9 p.m. Eastern Time... perfect timing for those who are unable to attend a webinar during the day.
  • Is there a special daytime webinar you really wanted to attend? Register anyway. You'll receive a link to the webinar recording in 1-2 days!
  • If you're a capstone student, remember that Doctoral Research Appointments do offer some weekend slots, too.
  • The Writing Center offers a paper review service for online, asynchronous feedback of your course papers.
  • Looking to meet other Walden night-study-owls? Check out Walden University's Facebook Group Finder.
  • Many University services offer working-student-friendly accommodations, such as evening chat hours from both the Library and the Writing Center.
  • If you have an after-hours question, try searching in Quick Answers, which provides information on most Walden resources and services.
  • Don't put off contacting Walden faculty or departments because of the time of day. In many cases, they're also working odd hours, and if nothing else, getting your questions out there faster means you might get an early-morning reply.
  • Customer Care is available 24/7 for technical support in numerous areas, from using Microsoft products to unexpected webpage errors.

Resources:

Hidden Librarian Video Hint:

Students with day jobs, or with families, or both

Might feel their cohorts all have it made: "Paper done by noon, so I'm out hitting the hoops!"

But he or she or they might find, if they venture to the groups,

That to their social media friends, at least, they're exactly in the loop!

Tips:

  • An electronic database is like an Internet search engine, but for scholarly books and articles. Instead of browsing the catalog or stacks of paper journals, you'll find articles by simply searching our database collections from the Library's website. 
  • The Library's home page at library.waldenu.edu lets you easily search several databases at once! Just type keywords from your topic in the main search box at the top, then press Enter.
  • For subject-specific resources, start with the Select a subject box and choose your program area, such as Education or Nursing.
  • Instead of searching for multiple terms in one box, try putting one concept per box, e.g. disabilities in Box 1 and curriculum in Box 2.
  • When you don't have enough search results, try broadening your topic keywords, e.g. trying United States instead of Illinois.
  • Most articles are available in a PDF, which is a type of file that lets you view a document in its original or intended form. You can save PDFs to your computer for offline viewing and/or easy access.
  • If you don't see a PDF icon, look for a Find@Walden button. Clicking on that will either take you to the full text, or to a list of resources that may have the full text. Just click any of the links shown to get to the article! What is the Find at Walden button?
  • With our monthly Mysteries of the Library: Revealed! series webinars, you'll master one library skill like a pro in just 30 minutes! 
  • Unsure how to do something in the Library? See it in action with our collection of interactive tutorials and recorded webinars.
  • Struggling with academic writing? The Writing Center offers a paper review service for personalized feedback of your course papers.
  • Customer Care is available 24/7 for technical support in numerous areas, from using Microsoft products to unexpected webpage errors.

Resources:

Hidden Librarian Video Hint:

Not one of us were born knowing

About links and tabs and browsers and things.

And all of us have mumbled, grumbled and stumbled before ever seeing those Internet wings.

But we promise that those feathers will start growing - and sooner than you think!

Sometimes it pays to just start at home... 

And "search everything".

Tips:

  • When researching, start with the Select a subject box and choose your program or topic area. such as Education or Nursing.
  • Set up a search matrix to help you keep track of multiple and/or complex database searches.
  • If you use the main search box at the top of your subject home, remember to note the individual databases of articles of interest.
  • Instead of searching for multiple terms in one box, try putting one concept per box, e.g. disabilities in Box 1 and curriculum in Box 2.
  • When you don't have enough search results, try broadening your topic keywords, e.g. trying United States instead of Illinois.
  • When you have too many search results, use the limiting options on the left (like Peer Reviewed), or try more specific search terms.
  • Unchecking the Full Text checkbox allows you to view all possible articles, even those Walden doesn't have access to.
  • Capstone students can request articles that Walden doesn't have access to through our DDS service.
  • Set up journal alerts to be automatically notified when new articles are published in a specific journal.
  • Set up search alerts to be automatically notified when new articles on your topic are added to a database.
  • Use citation chaining to find other articles that may be relevant to your topic, both older and newer articles.
  • Schedule a doctoral research appointment for a 1-on-1 session with a liaison librarian who has expertise in your field of study. 

Resources:

Hidden Librarian Video Hint:

It caused a bit of a stir and a hint of confusion

When the PhD students sought delectables from the database feast.

There's Gale! There's EBSCO! What an incredible show!

Which one should I choose now? Just where should I go?

As the wise sage softly whispered, "Get thee to the SRMO!"

Tips:

  • Are a few articles getting stale? Use citation chaining to find newer articles that may be relevant to your topic.
  • Set up journal alerts to be automatically notified when new articles are published in a specific journal.
  • Set up search alerts to be automatically notified when new articles on your topic are added to a database.
  • When searching a database, uncheck the Full Text checkbox to view all possible articles, even those Walden doesn't have access to.
  • Use Google Scholar to find articles that may not display in Walden's database collections.
  • Request articles or book chapters that Walden doesn't have access to through our DDS service.
  • The Library's Tests and Measures Guide will help you with identifying and locating instruments, finding reliability and validity, and more.
  • Use the Library's Statistics and Data Guide for resources and strategies related to finding statistics and datasets for your research.
  • Schedule a doctoral research appointment for a 1-on-1 session with a liaison librarian who has expertise in your field of study. 
  • The Center for Research Quality offers Methodology Office Hours, with separate sessions for qualitative and quantitative research.
  • The Form and Style staff offer Editor Office Hours to assist students working on completing their doctoral studies or dissertations.

Resources:

Hidden Librarian Video Hint:

Research is so serious. Cat pics are for the birds! 

No one of some sanity talks of brownies AND keywords. 

Qualitative, peer-reviewed... they just don't get the laughs, 

Not quite as much as chocolate or coffee in carafes. 

But those who work in libraries are obsessed with *all* the things. 

Boolean and subject terms - important as cuisines! 

At least according to the ones who work behind the scenes...

Loading ...

Open House Survey

We would love to hear from you so we can continue to make our virtual open house better each year.

Please take a moment to fill out our Open House Survey