NURS 6052 Week 2 Assignment: Filtered Resources

Filtered resources appraise the quality of studies and often make recommendations for practice. For this portion of the assignment you need to find three pieces of evidence from three different sources as indicated in the filtered section of the levels of evidence pyramid and listed on the Library's pyramid resource list for filtered evidence.

All the databases discussed on this page can be located on the Levels of Evidence Pyramid page in the Walden Library. Here are the steps for accessing the pyramid page.

1. On the Library homepage, go to the Research by Subject button:.
    

   

    
2. Click on Select a subject and choose: Nursing.
3. On the Nursing Research page, scroll down to the Research Help section. Click on Evidence-Based Practice Research.
4. Click on the link for Levels of Evidence Pyramid
5. Use navigation on the left to select the level of evidence you need to find.

Systematic reviews are considered the highest level of evidence available, and Cochrane Systematic Reviews are the gold standard.

Here is an example of how to search for a Cochrane Systematic Review using the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews:

1. On the Levels of Evidence Pyramid page select Systematic Reviews in the left navigation to be taken to that section.
    

   Note: If you need help accessing the database, refer to the database access instructions at the top of this page.

2. Choose The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews link.
    

   Note: If you have not already logged in to the Library databases, you will be prompted to log in with your myWalden Portal user name and password.

3. Once you are in the database, go to the first search box and enter a broad keyword related to your topic, such as:
    

   Neonatal

4. In the second search box you may consider another broad keyword related to your topic. For example, you could enter:
    

   "Infection Control"

   Note: Use quotes around a multi-word search term or subject to keep the words together when you search.

   

    
5. Then click on the Search button to run your search. 

All results will be Cochrane Systematic Reviews and available in full text. If you do not find any results, adjust your keywords or terms in the search box to be broader. For instance remove one row or shorten a term.

If you do not find what you need in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, you can search using the same strategy in our other filtered databases that contain systematic reviews:

Authors of critically-appraised topics evaluate and synthesize multiple research studies.

Here is an example of how to search for a critically-appraised topic using the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database:

1. On the Levels of Evidence Pyramid page select Critically-appraised topics in the left navigation to be taken to that section.
    

   Note: If you need help accessing the database, refer to the database access instructions at the top of this page.

2. Choose the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database link.
3. Once you are in the database, use the search box to enter broad keywords related to your topic, such as:
    

   Neonatal and Infection

    
4. Click Limits under the search box to open other options.
    

   

   
    
5. In the Publication Types box, click on Evidence Summaries to highlight it.
    

   

   
    
6. Then click on the search icon to run your search.
    

   Note: The link to download the PDF of the article will be to the right of the record. Look for JBI Database PDF.

If you do not find what you need in the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database, you can search using the same strategy in other filtered databases that contain critically-appraised topics:

Authors of critically-appraised individual articles evaluate and synopsize individual research studies.

Here is an example of how to search for critically-appraised individual articles using EvidenceAlerts from DynaMed Plus and McMaster University:

1. On the Levels of Evidence Pyramid page, select Critically-appraised individual articles in the left navigation to be taken to that section.
    

   Note: If you need help accessing the database, refer to the database access instructions at the top of this page

2. Choose the EvidenceAlerts link.
3. You must first register to search this database. To do so select the Free registration here link in the right margin.
    

   
    

4. Once you are registered, you can log in and search the database.
5. In the search box, enter a broad keyword search related to your topic, such as:
    

   Neonatal and Infection

    

   
    

6. Then click on the Search button to run your search.
7. Click on the title to view the citation and abstract.

If you do not find what you need in the EvidenceAlerts database, you can search using the same strategy in our other filtered databases that contain critically-appraised individual articles: