Skip to main content

Embedded Content: CRQ: About Us Bios

Overview

These boxes are embedded on the CRQ/About Us page.

Dean of Research and Executive Director

laura.lynn@mail.waldenu.edu

Tony Ajsenberg, M.A.

Director, Office of Student Research Administration

tony.ajsenberg@mail.waldenu.edu

Tony has led efforts to enhance operations and efficiencies in the office. In his six years in the center, he has taken on additional responsibilities in coordinating logistics for student-facing initiatives for CRQ and OSRA. Tony holds an M.A. in Education from the University of St. Thomas.

Michelle Stallone Brown, Ed.D.

Associate Director, Progress and Completion Initiatives

michelle.brown8@mail.waldenu.edu

Michelle joined Walden University in 2008 as doctoral faculty in the Riley College of Education and then transitioned to the Center for Research Quality in 2017. In her CRQ role, Michelle works to support the progress of Walden’s doctoral students, particularly students in KAM programs, and also assists with other initiatives within the Center related to capstone committee member training and doctoral program completion.

Leilani GjellstadLeilani Gjellstad, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Research Ethics and Compliance

Chair, Institutional Review Board

irb@mail.waldenu.edu

Leilani has conducted extensive research on the psychology of ethical development, earning her Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 2003. She has conducted and supported research at Walden since 2002 and leads the university’s Office of Research Ethics and Compliance.

Kristina Harris, CPPM, DBA

Associate Director, Office of Research & Sponsored Programs and Center for Research Quality Operations

Kristina.harris@mail.waldenu.edu

Kristina works as the point person for CRQ operations and project management. Her duties within the ORSP are to supports faculty, staff, & students with research funding initiatives. She joined CRQ in Spring 2010 and holds an M.B.A. from University of Dayton and a DBA from Walden University.

Deborah Inman, EdD

Director, Research Quality Management

deborah.inman@mail.waldenu.edu

Dr. Inman has served as Director of the Office of Research Quality Management for 5 years and is responsible for oversight of various aspects of research quality assurance specific to the doctoral research review process. Deborah has over 20 years of experience overseeing and strengthening quality research expectations for University doctoral programs.  Deborah received her doctorate from Columbia University.

 

Jan Garfield

Director, Professional Doctorate Capstone Innovation and Assessment

janice.garfield@mail.waldenu.edu

As director for innovation and assessment of the capstone experiences in Walden's professional doctorates, my role and responsibilities include building and managing organizational knowledge by facilitating communication and sharing among colleagues and students in Walden's professional doctorates. I help to assemble and transfer relevant knowledge for use in innovation and strategic planning, and I help to ensure the quality of Walden's professional doctorates by serving as the chief academic officer's designee for reviewing abstracts and final studies.

Molly A. Lauck, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Research & Sponsored Programs

molly.lauck@mail.waldenu.edu

Louis Milanesi, Ph.D.

Director, Committee Support and Doctoral Student Progress

louis.milanesi@mail.waldenu.edu

Daniel W. Salter, Ph.D.

Director, Strategic Research Initiatives

daniel.salter@mail.waldenu.edu

Dr. Salter has four key aspects to his work in the CRQ. First, he oversees many of the university's research dissemination programs (e.g., the research symposium, the New Scholars Workshop) and serves as executive editor for our seven research journals. In conjunction with his work on research-related policies and practices, he also collaborates with the various doctoral programs to support their development and operations. Finally, along with his service at the academic residencies, Daniel is in his 16th year as a doctoral faculty member at Walden. 

 

Jenny Sherer, M.Ed., CIP

Associate Director, Office of Research Ethics and Compliance

irb@mail.waldenu.edu

Jenny has been with OREC since 2008, working on initiatives aimed at informing researchers about issues that need to be considered related to the ethical review and conduct of research.  She received her M.Ed. from Texas Christian University.

Marydee A. Spillett, EdD

Associate Director, Qualitative Methodology Advisor, Office of Research Quality Management

marydee.spillett@mail.waldenu.edu

Dr. Spillett has served as Qualitative Methodology Advisor in the Center for Research Quality since 2010. She started with Walden in 2005 as a faculty member in the EdD program. Prior to that, she worked as Assistant Professor at the University of New Orleans, where she taught courses in qualitative research methods and served as qualitative methodologist on doctoral dissertation committees. She was also a Visiting Professor at the University of Utah, where she taught courses in higher education administration. Her area of expertise is in qualitative research methods.

Sunny Liu, PhD

Quantitative Expert, Office of Research Quality Management

sunny.liu@mail.waldenu.edu

Mary Najjar

Research Progress Intervention Coordinator, Office of Student Research Administration

Mary L. Deering <Mary.Deering@mail.waldenu.edu>

Mary oversees the DNP@mailwaldenu.eduDrPH@mail.waldenu.eduDIT@mail.waldenu.eduDHA@mail.waldenu.edu, and DSW@mail.waldenu.edu role accounts for doctoral students and faculty.  She provides support to students and faculty in order to assist them in moving through the doctoral process in a smooth and timely manner.  She is also a UMI/ProQuest administrator and is involved in various tasks throughout the Center.

Alex Dohm

Capstone Data and Systems Manager

Alex M. Dohm <alex.dohm@mail.waldenu.edu>

Alex provides expertise regarding the various systems and data used in support and administration of the doctoral capstone review process, most notably MyDR. He will coordinate product improvement projects related to these systems and oversee the doctoral capstone data and data reporting efforts.

 

Annelise Frederick

Data Processing and Reporting Specialist, Office of Student Research Administration

annelise.frederick@mail.waldenu.edu

Annelise provides support with committee assignments in Ph.D. and DBA. This includes processing initial committee assignments, URR assignments, and any changes to committees. She provides support to students and faculty as they move through the doctoral process and provides necessary information to help the doctoral journey. Annelise also provides support in data reporting and upkeep within CRQ.

Deepak Prakash

Capstone Data Analyst, Office of Student Research Administration

deepak.prakash@mail.waldenu.edu

Deepak Prakash started at Walden University in April 2020 and works as a Capstone Data Analyst in the Office of Student Research Administration (OSRA), in the Center for Research Quality.

Deepak assists with data requests and data reporting for the doctoral capstone process. He also supports reporting improvement and efficiency efforts along with creating data visualizations to represent doctoral capstone information.

Outside of work, Deepak enjoys spending time with his family, reading books, watching movies and hiking.  Deepak always think Technology and innovation is the heart and brain of any organization.

Maria Jaworski

Research Progress Intervention Coordinator, Office of Student Research Administration

Maria C. Jaworski <maria.jaworski@mail.waldenu.edu

Maria oversees the research@mail.waldenu.edu role account for Ph.D. students and faculty in all programs.  She provides support to students and faculty as they move through the doctoral process and provides necessary information to help make the doctoral journey as smooth as possible.  She is also a UMI/ProQuest administrator and is involved in various tasks throughout the Center.

Andy Kermode

Operations Manager, MyDR  Office of Student Research Administration

Andy G. Kermode <andrew.kermode@mail.waldenu.edu>

Andy provides expertise regarding the various systems the OSRA uses in support and administration of the doctoral capstone review process.  He coordinates product improvement projects related to these systems.  Andy also manages the doctoral capstone data and data reporting efforts within CRQ.

Brittany Andrews

Academic Operations Support Assistant

Libby Munson

Research Ethics Support Specialist, Office of Research Ethics and Compliance

irb@mail.waldenu.edu

Libby works in the Office of Research Ethics and Compliance, processing IRB applications and answering questions about the IRB review.

Bryn M. Saunders

Research Ethics Support Specialist, Office of Research and Ethics

irb@mail.waldenu.edu

Bryn works in the Office of Research Ethics and Compliance, processing IRB applications and responding to requests for the Participant Pool.

Mady Johnson
Capstone Data Analyst, Office of Student Research Administration
madysen.johnson@mail.waldenu.edu

Mady assists with data requests and data reporting for the doctoral capstone review process. She also supports reporting improvement and efficiency efforts within the Center and creates data visualizations to represent doctoral capstone information.

Arfe Ozcan, PhD

Methodologist

Dr. Ozcan have been involved with education at multiple levels, throughout K-12 and higher education, teaching classes and leading various research projects. After receiving her Ph.D. from The University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Ozcan have taught research methodology courses and conducted assessment and program evaluation studies with higher education institutions as well as school districts and various state agencies. She serves as methodology advisor at Center for Research

Zin Htway

Zin Htway, PhD

Zin Htway, PhD, MBA, teaches or has taught statistical methods in computational biology; advanced immunology; epidemiology and environment; cancer and society; sex, germs, and diseases; and quantitative methods for biology. Dr. Htway has worked as a researcher in community-based research settings in a variety of areas, including avian influenza detection and diabetes among Hispanic populations, and has served as principle investigator or methodology/statistics expert in many of those projects. Dr. Htway earned his PhD in public health and epidemiology from Walden University in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Dr. Lee StadtlanderLee Stadtlander, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Faculty Research Training and Curriculum Support 

leann.stadtlander@mail.waldenu.edu

Dr. Stadtlander started with Walden in 2005 in the School of Psychology where she was the Academic Psychology coordinator, she transitioned to the Center for Research Quality in 2019. In her role in CRQ she supports faculty research mentor training courses and resource development. She also has oversight of the university research courses working closely with course coordinators in managing course revisions and quality assurance.  

Amy PettersonAmy Petterson

Research Progress Intervention Coordinator, Office of Student Research Administration

Amy oversees the Doctoralstudy@mail.waldenu.edu and the DBAdocstudy@mail.waldenu.edu role accounts for doctoral students and faculty. She provides support to students and faculty in order to assist them in moving through the doctoral process in a smooth and timely manner. She is also involved in various tasks throughout the Center.

 

Reggie TaylorReggie Taylor, PhD

Associate Director of Capstone Student Research Support

Dr. Taylor started with Walden in 2007 in the School of Psychology as a contributing faculty. He transitioned to the Doctor of Business Administration program in 2013 as a Program Coordinator. Dr. Taylor joined the Center for Research Quality in 2019. In his role in CRQ, Reggie provides methodology and statistics support, one-on-one statistics and SPSS tutoring support. He is also responsible for expanding these tutoring and methods advising services to address broader student research support needs at the doctoral capstone stage. 

 

Gary J. Burkholder, Ph.D.

Senior Committee Advisor and Senior Research Scholar

gary.burkholder@mail.waldenu.edu

Dr. Burkholder works closely with program leadership on progress strategies for students in the dissertation and doctoral study phases of their studies. He also serves as Editor in Chief for the Higher Learning Research Communication journal. Gary has served at Walden as a faculty member in the School of Psychology and the School of Health Sciences since 2001. In addition, he has held a number of senior administrative positions at Walden..