For your Week 4 assignment you are asked to review three Library webinars and then find two peer-reviewed, primary research articles on a topic of interest to you.
The goal of this guide is to help you navigate the Walden Library and find peer-reviewed, research articles on a nursing topic. You will learn:
This tutorial will show you basic navigation of the Walden Library website.
Video: What is this stuff? Identifying Materials in the Walden Library (YouTube) Note: The reference citations used as examples are in APA 6 style.
Recorded May 2018 (32 min 16 sec).
Video: The Three Ps of evaluation: Primary vs Secondary, Popular vs Scholarly, and Peer Review
Recorded June 12, 2018 (64 min 55 sec).
Video: What about stuff I find on the Internet? Knowing when to use and trust what you find on the Internet (YouTube)
Recorded August 2018 (59 min 53 sec)
Video: Right resource, right time: How to evaluate Library materials (YouTube)
Recorded July 2018 (45 min 11 sec)
If you’re new to the Walden Library, or just need a refresher on navigating the Library, please join us for this Introduction to Nursing Research in the Walden Library webinar. This webinar will cover the basics of using the Walden Library; as well as provide tips for finding what you need in the nursing databases.
Video: Introduction to Nursing Research in the Walden Library (YouTube)
Recorded June 2019 (39 min 39 sec)
We cover selecting appropriate databases, developing search strategies, focusing topics with limits and operators, and how to implement searching methods in different databases.
Video: Advanced Nursing Research Library Lab (YouTube)
Recorded June 2019 (45 min 07 sec)
The Library offers a variety of resources geared specifically to nursing students. Here is how you can access them:
1. On the Library homepage, go to the Subject Resources box.
2. Click on Select a subject and choose: Nursing
3. This is the Library's main Nursing Research page. Here you can access:
Throughout your studies at Walden, you will be asked to find peer-reviewed articles on a number of different topics. If you are unfamiliar with what peer review is, please refer to our guide:
Many of the Library databases, including CINAHL Plus with Full Text, have limiters that you can select so that your searches will return only peer-reviewed articles. CINAHL also has a limiter for research, or primary, articles. If you'd like to learn more about what a primary article is, please see our Quick Answer:
Here is a search that you can do in the CINAHL Plus with Full Text database to find peer-reviewed, primary research articles on a topic:
1. When you are on the Nursing Research page, scroll down until you see a section called Nursing articles, journals & books.
Note: For more information on accessing the Nursing Research page, please see the access nursing resources instructions above.
2. Click on Nursing databases and then click on the link for CINAHL Plus with Full Text to access the database.
Note: If you have not already logged in to the Library databases, you will be prompted to log in with your myWalden Portal user name and password.
3. Once you are in the database, go to the first search box and enter your topic. For example, you could enter:
Here is what your search boxes should look like:
4. To limit your results to only full-text, peer-reviewed articles, go below the search boxes and click in the boxes under Full Text and Peer Reviewed Scholarly Journals.
Note: Many Library databases include citations for articles that they don't have in full text, meaning the full article isn't available. Limiting your results to only full text will ensure that all of the articles you find will be available.
5. To limit your results to only research articles, continue to scroll down and click in the box under Research Article.
Note: Research articles are primary sources, since they report on research that the author(s) performed.
6. Then click on the Search button to run your search.
7. That should give you a list of peer-reviewed, primary research articles on your topic.
8. Once you identify an article that looks interesting, click on the PDF Full Text link to open the article.
To learn more about picking appropriate keywords, please see our guide: