The easiest way to search the professional nursing literature is to search peer-reviewed journals. While not all professional nursing journals are peer reviewed, all peer-reviewed nursing journals are professional. If you'd like to learn more about peer review and about different types of publications, please refer to these guides:
Many of the Library databases, including CINAHL Plus with Full Text, have a special limiter so that your searches return only peer-reviewed articles. They also allow you to set a date limit for your search.
Here is a search that you can do in the CINAHL Plus with Full Text database to find peer-reviewed articles from the last five years on the topic you choose:
1. On the Library homepage, go to the Subject Resources box.
2. Click on Select a subject and choose: Nursing.
3. Scroll down until you see a section called Nursing articles, journals & books.
4. Click on Nursing databases and then click on the link for CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Note: If you have not already logged in to the Library databases, you will be prompted to log in with your myWalden Portal user name and password.
5. Once you are in the database, go to the search boxes and enter your topic. It will work best to keep your search terms simple, and use single words or short phrases in each box. For example, for the topic "health promotion and patient centered care," you could enter:
patient centered care
Here is what your search boxes should look like:
6. To limit your results to only full-text, peer-reviewed articles, go below the search boxes and click in the boxes under Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Note: Many Library databases include citations for articles that they don't have in full text, meaning the full article isn't available. Limiting your results to only full text will ensure that all of the articles you find will be available.
7. To limit your results to only the last five years, go further down on the page. Under Published Date enter the year range that you want.
In the first Year box, enter the year that was five years ago. For example:
Leave the second Year box empty and the search will default to the current year.
Note: You also don't have to fill out the months, they will default to January and the current month respectively.
8. Then click on the Search button to run your search.
9. That should give you a list of peer-reviewed articles from the last five years on your topic.
10. Once you identify an article that looks interesting, click on the PDF Full Text link to open the article.
To learn more about picking appropriate keywords, please see our guide: